How did the egg get up the mountain?

It scrambled up!

Sorry, that’s the best egg joke I know. I have some better cheese jokes, but this post is about eggs and not cheese.

When I had my first IVF consultation, the doctor told me that for a healthy woman my age (30) who had no problems he would expect to be able to collect around 10 eggs. From those 10 he would be very happy if they got 3 or 4 embryos. However, because of my endometriosis he said that we might only get 1. 1 egg. But not to worry because that 1 egg would be good quality because of my age.

I hadn’t given it much thought until now… 1 egg?! That doesn’t sound good!!! I’m also not sure that I understand why the chances are so small… One of my ovaries has rather rudely welcomed back the endometriomas with open arms (and is now housing a big cyst too, party time), but the other one seems fine. It’s free from endometriomas (for now, please god stay that way) and it’s swinging around free from bowel and any other gubbins on the inside. So why only 1 egg?! Does anyone else have any experience of this? I’d be interested to know any of your experiences of IVF with endometriosis.

I was on the countdown to my first egg collection at the end of April and it was cancelled when the suprecur failed, and the next cycle has been cancelled because a big cyst has grown. I’ll be waiting about another 6 weeks I guess to start the pill again for try number 3. For one egg?

I’m suddenly not feeling very confident. 1 egg? I don’t know why I’d forgotten that little nugget of information.

What do you think? Has endometriosis affected anyone else’s egg collection?

Let me know if you have any ideas, I think I’ve eggs-hausted all mine. (sorry).

BB xx

3 thoughts on “How did the egg get up the mountain?

  1. newtoivf

    I have zero advice or ideas, but just wanted to say shit man. sorry. But also, it only takes 1 egg. And I know how annoying it is when people say “oh so-and-so’s friend’s sister’s auntie had half an egg and they stitched it together with another egg and made a baby” (or something like that….I’m pretty sure that’s a thing) but I do know plenty of ladies on twitter that had very low ‘harvests’ but now have very big bumps. fingers crossed for you x

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh yes, that old chestnut! Pretty sure I’ve heard the “my friend’s sister’s auntie had half an egg” one before. *smacks head*

      Thanks though, that was funny, but also reassuring to know that at least some people are getting there even if they don’t manage to get too many eggs. Lets hope it is our turn soon!! X

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The AMH News Report | barrenbetty

Leave a Reply

