Just a quickie

So, I had my first scan to check on how my follicles are growing. If you read my last post to the end and didn’t get sick/die of boredom half way through, you will know that I had little to no faith that my ovaries were doing anything at all. Turns out I was half right.

Compared to my last scan, I didn’t have too many bad omens so everything started off okay. I had a wee in my usual toilet, I saw my usual nurse and she used her usual dildocam. So far so usual and therefore so good. I did have a bit of a ‘moment’ when yet another person rocked up to the waiting room with a miracle, “I got knocked up before IVF news” *smacks face with bundle of 6 month old copies of Hello, Look and OK magazines*

I have endometriomas in both ovaries, and one ovary is also attached to the ureter (tube coming out of the kidney) which is pulling it up and making it difficult to access. My right ovary in particular has two endometriomas, and one of them is pretty big. The left ovary has a small endometrioma but is basically (currently) pretty normal and accessible after my operations. AND OF COURSE, which ovary is still “quiet” (you say “quiet”; I say LAZY). You guessed it, lazy lefty. My left ovary has 5 follicles all measuring 10, and they told me they probably won’t bother with that one now because they are too small. The right ovary has 3 okay looking ones measuring 14,15 and 16 and 2 smaller 11s that might catch up.

That’s it really. Bet you are dead happy you clicked on the link now. I will carry on with the same dose of Menopur for two more days and have another scan on Wednesday. Pending any major disasters (which I will not rule out ‘cos that’s how I roll), I will trigger on Wednesday night and egg collection will be on Friday. I was starting to get scared and tearful in my appointment, when my nurse brought me back down to reality with:

“There are still so many hurdles. First the follicles have to keep growing, then they need to contain eggs and we need to be able to reach them, then they need to fertilise, and then they need to continue to divide. If you have an embryo transfer, you then have to do a pregnancy test, be pregnant, and then you need to not miscarry. And when that’s all over, you have 8 more months of worry. It never ends.”

I love her so bad, we are kindred spirits.

BB xx

25 thoughts on “Just a quickie

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! They did tell me I might only get 1 egg, so I guess so far this is looking a bit better than that! I can’t believe there aren’t more in there though. I have grown such a massive paunch.

      Reply
  1. redbluebird

    Make sure they tell you the size of Lazy Lefty’s follicles on Wednesday! They may grow big enough by Friday. I know my RE retrieves anything 15mm & above. I’m glad you have so many… I believe they will accept the challenge and grow appropriately!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I’m going to be assertive and ask how big they are on Wednesday and try to coerce them into flushing out lazy lefty on Friday anyway. Can’t do any harm I guess!!

      Reply
  2. Steph Mignon

    Wow weird, I just made the connect that I have a lazy ovary too: My right one. Last few times I’ve been checked I ovulated out of the left, which is interesting because the right is the one that had the endometrioma! Endo strikes again. ;/ Anyway, it’s great to hear that you are responding better than they thought! Here’s to as many good eggs as you can possibly get!!! One of those just might be your future baby or babies!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Weird! When I’ve had scans around ovulation, it’s been the right one doing the ovulating, even though that’s the worst with endo. Why do we have a lazy ovary when it seems to be the healthier one?!! Urgh, our bodies are against us!! I can’t imagine one of those eggs becoming a baby… Too many hurdles. I think I might feel a bit more positive if Wednesday’s scan shows some good progress! x

      Reply
      1. dogsarentkids

        You are so dramatic. I expect jokes, comics and unrelenting witty commentary. I really don’t think I’m asking for too much.

  3. lmac2013

    Looks like we can compare notes on Wednesday!! We still have two and a half days for a growth spurt 🙂 I bet you will get more than you expect! Wishing you lots of luck!

    Reply
  4. IVFfervescent gal

    Your nurse sounds like the no-nonsense type. She’s right, I guess. No sugar coating there. Oh and “dildocam”? Thank you for starting my day with a laugh. Hope your follicles grow like mad.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Ha! Good old dildocam. My nurse is great. She is so sweet and kind, but no mincing her words at all. I love her, she can be so negative. For some reason I find it really funny! How are you injections going? Are you feeling side effects? x

      Reply
      1. IVFfervescent gal

        Hey! I’m on day 4 of stims and no side effects at the moment, except for a pale blue bruise from the first injection. The subsequent injections haven’t bruised though. I’m on 250 units of Puregon a day. I think that’s a fairly high dose, on account of my almost non-existent remaining egg supply. Did you have any side effects? Don’t spare me any gory details, forewarned is forearmed! First blood test tomorrow. Wish me luck.

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        GOOD LUCK!!! I’ve had 8 injections now. Compared to down reg I feel okay really. My tummy is bloated and I can feel my ovaries are a bit sore… Bit like cramp, but sharper. Nothing drastic. I’m bruising horribly though, it’s disgusting. I hope your test goes well tomorrow!

  5. newtoivf

    This really is great news. I wrote a list of all my hurdles to get through and took great satisfaction ticking them off (to be fair I love to tick things off any list-I’ve been known to list things I’ve already done, just to tick them off!) Have everything crossed for the next few weeks, this bit goes really fast…until the 2ww! Xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! My sister is the same with lists… Sometimes she makes them when she has finished everything just so that she can tick stuff off! She also goes to great lengths to colour code everything. I live in a much more haphazard, scrappy way. I’m looking forward to seeing how many eggs they can get… I so hope it’s more than 1! Hope the wedding planning is taking shape. I loved planning my wedding xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks so much! Don’t know how you managed to get 30 eggs. I have a definite beer-belly paunch, despite not having any beer for months and there are only about 10 follicles… And some are tiny!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

