Barren Betty’s IVF Story

Well, it’s done. Both of my golden eggs fertilised overnight and made it to Sunday. I was beyond excited to get the call on Saturday to hear both had made it and incredibly happy to be having both transferred today.

I am exhausted now. Mentally and physically, I just don’t feel that I have anything left. The embryologist was not very positive about the embryos. They have a decent cell number for 2 day embryos (a 3 and a 4 cell), but the quality isn’t great. I have no idea what that means, and nobody has explained anything to me. I’m going to call them tomorrow morning for more information, because I need to understand what they meant. A glib, “the quality is middling” accompanied by a “so-so” hand shake gesture and a shrug of the shoulders just doesn’t fill me with confidence. I also have no information whatsoever about what happens next. What should I be doing? What shouldn’t I be doing? What should I eat or drink? What shouldn’t I? Is there anything I should avoid? Any advice would be very welcome if you know the answer to any of those questions.

I’d really like to write an elegant, carefully crafted and thoughtful post to explain what happened and my feelings about it all. Obviously if you read my blog you will already know that I can’t do that, so instead I will explain through the medium of cartoon. I showed this to my husband, who described it as “grim”. Happy reading!

You might need to click on them if you can’t read the writing, or you might not need to. I literally have no idea.

BB xx

44 thoughts on “Barren Betty’s IVF Story

  1. lamentingthelentil

    YES!! One step down. This is good. On the other hand, it sounds like you have a bunch of interpersonally incompetent wahoos working at your clinic. They should be telling you all of these things. And they should certainly not be shrugging and giving you wet handshakes. I haven’t been through IVF yet. Our journey down that particular shitty path starts at the end of the month. So I can’t give you any feedback about what you should or should not be doing. I’m sure our other infertile sisterfriends will have you covered in no time. I’ll be thinking about you!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yes, you’re right… I’m so glad to have come this far and actually have 2 embryos on board! I find it all so confusing, it doesn’t help when the doctors don’t explain anything or make flippant remarks. I’m wishing you lots of good luck for your IVF cycle. It’s not easy, but if you make it out the other side the rewards will be pretty good!

      Reply
  2. bloggerkuwait

    I’m so happy they both made it! It’s well known that a very high protein diet can help patients doing IVF…so eat lots of grilled chicken and steak with veggies or something healthy on the side. I used to do a mix of diced carrots, broccoli, peas and corn. You can make a mix of whatever you want. Also, drinking Gatorade or vitamin water can help relieve any uncomfortableness from IVF. Just eat lots of healthy food and rest with your feet up. Goodluck…and looking forward for the results 😊

    Reply
  3. Aramis

    Congrats on the transfer! But I agree with Lentil that your clinic sounds like a bunch of doody heads (polite version). There’s lots of conflicting advice on what you should be doing now, ie bed rest versus no bed rest, but in general it’s just take it easy, no heavy lifting, no baths or saunas, no exercise that gets you super overheated (lots of heat bad for implantation), and the standard no booze (although again I tend to fall into the “drink till it’s pink” camp). And try to stay same for the next week or so! Good luck!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yeah, total doody heads. I like that. Much nicer than what I may have said πŸ˜‰ I’ve remained chilled out today, been for a bit of a walk and eaten nice food. I’d absolutely kill for a glass of wine right now… I’m not sure how I will cope with waiting for 2 weeks to see if this has worked without wine to see me through. I might well go completely mental.

      Reply
  4. hopefulandhungry

    Wonderful news! It hasn’t worked for me yet, but I eat pineapple core starting on day of transfer. I cut the pineapple into 5 slices and cut the core out. The extra bromelain is suppose to help with implantation. And I take it easy for the couple of days after transfer, minimizing time on my feet. I hope your embies stick!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks for the advice! I am pinepple-d up for the next few days. I’m trying to eat a bit more protein and nuts and seeds too. Not done much today, been for a bit of a walk and had a nap. I could get used to this actually, I’m really very good at being lazy.

      Reply
  5. Isabelle

    Yay for fertilization but how could they not tell you what to do next?!? Anyhow, I know it varies. My clinic instructs me to rest at home the rest of the day after transfer and the day after. Sitting or laying doesn’t matter. And abstain from intercourse. No strenuous activities or heavy lifting. Praying for the embies to stick!

    Reply
  6. Nushi

    Great news! Our clinic told us to take it easy the day of the transfer plus two days. Not complete bed rest but no heavy lifting, strenuous activity, no intercourse. Also, keep yourself hydrated – I used to have at least two litres a day. The only random thing I did was wear socks all the time – a blog I read a while back mentioned something about warm feet creating a warm environment for the embies to stick. I thought there was no harm in doing it…and still continue πŸ™‚

    Sending you loads of sticky baby dust!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! You have proven yourself to be an expert baby-maker so I’m definitely going to follow your advice! I wanted to put socks on today because I read the same thing, but it is sooo hot I couldn’t do it. I reckon my feet are pretty warm anyways πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. dogsarentkids

    Yay pictures. I liked this one. And lots of luck to you! I hope your husband’s thing and your thing made a tiny thing.

    Reply
  8. Baby Hopeful

    Love this post, your blog is so original with your pics!! You are definitely right to call them and ask all your questions, you need to know. Good luck with everything, I’m thinking of you and keeping my fingers crossed. xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! I’m calling them tomorrow with a big list. Either that, or I will panic and make my husband do it. Whatever, someone will call them tomorrow! I think I’ll feel better once I understand how mediocre the embryos are and what it really means. I tried to ask questions when I was there, but there is only so much you can say while you have your legs in the air and a man is shining a big torch at your lady parts.

      Reply
  9. mammacod

    This is great news!!! Keeping my fingers and toes crossed for your two little embryos. May they be the ones that stick! Just wanted to chime in with things that have helped for me (especially with the awful bloating and constipation): First, Gatorade. Lots and lots of Gatorade (and not so much water). Then, a diet that’s high in protein (as others have said) and high in fiber. Minimal exertion, so try to stay away from jogging, lifting, ab exercises, etc. Walking and swimming got the OK from my RE. Generally, treat your body well so that the embryos, when they’re transferred, reap the benefits. Looking forward to the next update. Hope it all goes great!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks πŸ™‚ I’m so relieved to have actually come this far. For a while I never thought I would ever reach the embryo transfer stage. Thanks for the advice… I’ve been trying to eat high protein, more fibre and have lots of water and I think the bloat is starting to subside (or maybe that is wishful thinking!). Hope you are getting on okay in your 2WW as well x

      Reply
  10. redbluebird

    I’m glad you had the two. And they grow better inside of you than in the lab anyway, so hopefully their assessment of the quality means little.
    My RE’s office isn’t big on instructions either. I feel like I have to ask a million questions every visit. I hope you get some better explanations today!
    Oh, and I just read an article that moving around some (rather than just bed rest) results in slightly better outcomes during IVF.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! I spoke to the embryologist today again who said the embryos are grade 2 (out of 1-3), and are normal for day 2 embryos. He basically said they were average, just normal, with a good cell count. NOT exactly the same as the other doctor?!! I think they need to go on bedside manner lessons. I’ve been walking quite a lot so I’m glad to hear that shouldn’t offend my average embryos too much!

      Reply
  11. Fertility Doll

    I have no idea what you do but all the ladies above have noted the ones I have heard – from pineapple to protein diet and socks. Now I’m not an IVFer (yet) but I say find a way to chill out and quieten the mind πŸ™‚ because I know a noisy mind drives me insane! Fingers crossed for you.

    Ps I heart the cartoon.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks Doll! I’ve been reading lots and have a nice big pile of books to keep me going. Also planning a couple of Vampire Diaries/Battlestar Galactica marathons. I’m basically eating loads of nice food, lazing about, reading books, going for walks in the sunshine and watching loads of DVDs… I’m having a brilliant time so far!!!

      Reply
      1. Fertility Doll

        I’m a True Blood and Game of Thrones fan.. basically any HBO trash hehe

        I’m glad you’re chilling out and having a good time. This weather is perfect for the walks and to keep your mind in a good place.

        Sending you soooo much luck.

  12. elaaisa

    Great news! I say other than avoiding getting drunk and eating sweet stuff, you can just do whatever makes you feel good! Also, I know this is exciting, but I would avoid jumping around.. thinking of you!xx
    PS: the IVF story drawings are fantastic!!!!

    Reply
  13. Maya

    Sending you and your embryos lots of good vibes! I love your cartoon and so understand being stung and pooped on!! Hopefully your nightmare will end now. Eat comforting foods and take it easy! Wishing you all the best. Maya

    Reply
  14. canadianivfjourney

    Ha ha ha… LOVE the cartoon! Like you, I so often feel a great sadness for my poor husband who has to “do the dirty” in to a cup. They have it so hard don’t they? Boy… did they draw the short straw in this whole process.

    I know you’ve spoken to the embryologist now, and hopefully your mind is at rest.. but we had a really good Doctor explain to us the “quality” issue when we were in for our transfer on Sunday. Basically an “average” quality embryo has a good chance of making it. It’s actually pretty rare for an embryo to be “above average” or “excellent”… so you’re right where you need to be.

    As for what to do now? I’m no expert… but my take on this is do whatever makes you feel good. This is the toughest time for all of us – a belly full of hope that might turn to bitter disappointment. So just be good to you.

    My fingers are so tightly crossed for you xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Hi! I wrote you a message on your blog today, but for some reason it disappeared… Just realised that ALL of my blog comments the last 2 days aren’t there either. Grr!! You have had a similar grade embie transferred too haven’t you? A nice, happy average 2? On day 2? Eep! My fingers are crossed for you too!! My transfer was on Sunday… Was yours a bit before that? If mine are still growing they should be implanting soon… I’m just trying to will them on!

      Reply
    2. barrenbetty Post author

      Argh, that posted before I had finished. I am going to give up with WordPress on the iPad. “A belly full of hope that might turn into bitter disappointment” sums it up alright! I just want to know already. Anyway, good luck over there in Canada!! xxx

      Reply
      1. canadianivfjourney

        We transferred on Sunday too… but they said ours was a “3”… that all depends if they’re using the same scale of course!!

        Nice to know there’s someone waiting (and sweating) at exactly the same time. It’s out of our hands now…

        That sounds very zen and glib… I’m actually a gibbering mess inside πŸ™‚

        Good luck to you – thinking sticky thoughts for us both xx

  15. Amanda

    I’m happy for you to have this step done! FX for you that your golden eggs are indeed golden. We will be doing ivf in September and its so scary! Love your pictures and ill be sharing them with my infertile bitter friends :). Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  16. Positive Pants

    I absolutely love your cartoons!!! I was telling a friend at work about them today. I think I joined twitter around this time so I’m almost caught up on your story. I’ve never heard of an endometria before reading your blog. So sorry they fucked up your EC but glad they both fertilised and now your preggas! Xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, thanks! I want to get a scanner to bore you with more. Egg collection seems like a world away now… Can’t believe it was only 3.5 weeks ago!!! It feels like an eternity.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

