Symptom Watch: 8dp2dt update

Symptom Watch is boring. My cramps were terrible by Saturday evening and I really thought it would be game over on Sunday. In actual fact, by Sunday the cramp had done a runner and I didn’t have it no more. Nothing. Nada. I was still as bloated as Father Christmas after he’s eaten all the mince pies and sherry on 24th December, but no cramp. I spent a while doing what any other sane person would do on a 2WW – I searched Google for clues. I didn’t find any.

So yeah, symptom watch is boring. This morning I woke up and my cramp was back with a vengeance. I’m currently 8dp2dt and Official Test Day is Friday. It felt like my period was about to start and I was uncomfortable and sore (still am come to think of it, so what is going on with my tenses I do not have a good answer for).

I made some lemon cupcakes to cheer myself up (result: look like dog sick, but taste really good. Standard outcome of all my cooking adventures), and I went for a walk down the river into town. I saw approximately 50 pregnant women, 250 women with babies and 1 mad man shouting at ducks. Because 5 pregnancy tests aren’t enough, I swung by the chemist and bought some more with pink dye ‘cos I heard on the grapevine those are more sensitive. I ambled back along the river through the dappled shade and read my book in the sun for half an hour. So far, so nice.

I don’t know how to say this without being gross, so I won’t try and I’ll just be gross. I felt something of a “discharge” from “down there” on my walk home. Nobody looked at me funny (the mad man did, but he was talking to ducks so we can discount him), so I thought it couldn’t be anything too drastic. On inspection I was right and it wasn’t too drastic. A little tiny bit of brown blood. A little tiny bit of brown blood that looks suspiciously like the little tiny bit of brown blood that arrives just before my period starts.

I didn’t need anymore persuading. I took a test.

I was about to end the post there just to be annoying, but I won’t.

The test was quite clearly (but faintly) positive.

I couldn’t believe my eyes. I still can’t believe my eyes. I kept trying to sneak up on it; like if I caught it by surprise it might reveal itself to be lying.

I’m aware that it’s very early days still, but whatever. I’m excited. I hope the positive line keeps making an appearance until Friday, but even if it doesn’t I still know that at least one of my average little embryos made it this far. I am currently the most pregnant I have ever been in my life and I am taking today as a win.

Betty 1 – Infertility 0.

BB xx

47 thoughts on “Symptom Watch: 8dp2dt update

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! I just tried to comment on your blog, but I still can’t comment on any blog whatsoever. It’s so annoying and I have no idea how to fix it! Argh. Sounds like you’ve had a lot of drama. Have you had your transfer today?! x

      Reply
      1. Isabelle

        Nope. We’re waiting for the phone call. But we’re assuming that we’re going in since I have to drink a lot to have a full bladder and with traffic on a Monday morning it takes over an hour to get there. The transfer is scheduled for 10:15, two hours and 10 minutes from now. A bit nervous but it is what it is. I”m so excited for you!

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        Ooh, exciting!! Good luck and I’ll be thinking of you. I can’t believe I am looking at a positive line for the first time in my life. I’ve been so excited all day I’ve got a headache now. Think I need to go and have a lie down!

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks Robin! I’ve given myself a right headache today between all the getting too excited and sitting in the sun. I need to have a lie down now in a darkened room.

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks… me too! Guess I will find out this week. I’ve never seen a positive test though so I feel like I’ve made some progress at least anyway!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! It’s such early days I’m probably being a bit silly getting excited, but at least I know I can get this far. I was so sad not to have blasts, but it looks like they have survived ok anyway. I’m looking forward to see what the next few days and weeks will bring!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh hooray, I found your comment too. Glad I’m not alone in the spam fiasco! And thanks for the comment… it’s been a good day for me today (apart from being told I am spam) 🙂

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks 🙂 I’m going to have to stock pile tests I think… I seem to be tempted to do one in the morning and one in the evening then compare colours. It’s a good job I’m not working this week, between googling and testing I don’t have much spare time on my hands.

      Reply
  1. dogsarentkids

    Holy shitballs! I for one am very curious to see what you change your name too, since you’re not barren anymore. Until you just casually mentioned getting a positive, as if it was just like any other lazy day, I was really interested in the ducks.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      The ducks are a health hazard. The amount of poo they generate is alarming. It’s a good job I had other news otherwise I might have just posted a picture of the poo devastation. I think I’ll stick with Barren Betty until I am completely proven to be unbarren. Would be so awkward to have to change my name back if it all goes tits up. If it doesn’t, I’m not going to blog about pregnancy so unfortunately I envisage many more years of pictures of duck poo, dogs driving cars and boring shit that I made.

      Reply
  2. missymakes

    Yes – I knew it! I was waiting for this – i just had a feeling this was going to work out for you. Congratulations! It may be early days, but it’s definitely okay to celebrate!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! I’m sorry I’ve not written on your blog. I keep trying, but all my comments are being sent to spam!! It’s so annoying. Congratulations on your news… Very exciting!! I’m looking forward to more updates xx

      Reply
      1. missymakes

        Thanks! There’s an update coming today. I fell asleep as soon as I got home from work yesterday so I never got around to posting! Oops.

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! I’ve been keeping up with your journey too… Unfortunately Akismet is sending all of my comments on all blogs straight to their spam folder 😦 I hope it gets fixed soon, but I am still rooting for you! It’s early days yet… Keeping my fingers crossed for you love xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      You’re an excellent partner! I’ll try to keep her pinned down so you can smash her in the face with your FET and we can kill her for all of time.

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! I can’t believe it really. I’ve done an obscene number of tests now, including a digital just so I could see the word ‘pregnant’! I hope it stays that way, but I’m so excited to get this far at least… Further than I’ve ever been before!

      Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        Insane… I was beginning to think I’d never see them! Think it must have been your eye crossing that swung it 😉 Oh, and I’ve been happily commenting away on blogs, but my comments are all going to spam so there might be a couple in your spam box I imagine!

  3. bliss

    woohoo! keeping fingers crossed for you!
    (i feel like such a bad friend, but i feel happier for you than i did for one of my best friends when she told me she was pregnant with #2. )

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Aww, thanks!! I hope I stay pregnant. I just got annoyed reading a friend of mine is pregnant on Facebook with her first baby… Err, no reason why that should annoy me at all but it did! (I was jealous.. ?! What?!!) xx

      Reply
      1. bliss

        Some people just don’t have any idea how hard it is for some of us. I have another friend who told me last month that she and her husband have decided to try for #2. Yesterday, I saw a message from her that started with “I haven’t announc…”. That was all I saw but I didn’t bother to open it anymore. hihi.

        What a good friend this TTC is turning me into. 😛

        Good luck to you and I hope you stay healthily pregnant! 😉

  4. canadianivfjourney

    This is so super exciting!! My official test isn’t until Monday… which still seems like a million miles away… I’m holding out and not doing HPT’s, trying to hold on to hope for as long as possible.

    Although knowing you can see a line – and we transferred on the same day – makes it even harder to wait!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      You are a strong lady!! I can’t stop doing tests now, it’s such a novelty. It’s strange your OTD is Monday when mine is Friday… ?!! Are you going to wait until Monday or do you think you will cave before? I have to confess (don’t tell anyone) I did a test on Sunday too, hehe, 6 days early! *smacks hand*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

