Wham, bam, thank you spam!

This is (almost) entirely infertility unrelated. I’m not sure that sentence makes sense. It looks weird. The word eleven looked weird to me today as well. You know when you stare at something for too long then you can’t tell if it’s spelt wrong or not, or even really remember if it’s a real word? Eleven, eleven, eleven. Yep, still weird.

Anyway, about 10 days ago I noticed that none of my comments were appearing on blogs. After a half hearted investigation yesterday, I discovered that I am one of a fairly large number of special chosen people in the UK who Akismet has randomly picked and marked as spam. This means all of my comments are going into spam folders.

I haven’t commented that much since I realised my comments kept disappearing, but I have haphazardly with no rhyme or reason commented on blogs to check (still disappearing).

If you think I might have commented on your blog, I’d check your spam folder. I might have. Then again, I might not have (sorry). Sometimes my comments were like 4 lines long and poof! disappeared. Annoying.

I am making efforts to have myself removed from whatever black list Akismet have decided to put me on for no good reason whatsoever, but they are shady individuals who ignore emails and goodness knows what else I don’t know about.

That’s it. Sorry. I am not that self absorbed, and I am reading all of your blogs. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

Small 9dp2dt update: still pregnant. Did a digital test so I could see it it writing, “pregnant 1-2 weeks” is the official verdict from Clearblue. Best £9 I have ever spent in my life.

BB xx

P.s. Has anybody ever eaten spam? I haven’t. According to The Source Of All Knowledge (Wikapedia, I’ve not had a chat with God) the seven billionth can of Spam was sold in 2007. You’ll thank me one day when that comes up in a pub quiz.

30 thoughts on “Wham, bam, thank you spam!

  1. dogsarentkids

    My mom used to make us Spam when we were little and this was when it was “popular” in the U.S. I have no memories of this, so I assume I was traumatized by it. They still make and sell it, so SOMEONE is eating it.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Who the eff is eating spam? I want to know. Surely anything is better than a weird mush of different ground up meat in a tin? I’m sorry that happened to you. Must have been hard x

      Reply
  2. redbluebird

    My grandmother used to try to feed us spam. Spam, Velveeta, and those little wieners in a can. Vienna sausages, I think they’re called? I’m not sure, because I don’t check her cupboards, but I’ll bet she has a little stash of spam somewhere in that house this very moment.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Surely nobody in their right mind should eat something called spam and weiners? Knowing my lack of cupboard organisation, I wouldn’t be surprised if I found a can of spam buried somewhere in my own kitchen.

      Reply
  3. hopefulandhungry

    Glad you could see “pregnant” in front of your very eyes….so exciting!! I’ve eaten a lot of Spam, gross I know, my Mom was born and raised in Hawaii and it’s basically a staple over there. With the military bases, it was very common. It’s decent if fried to be a little crispy. 🙂

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Interesting! I’ve just remembered I like corned beef, which is mushed up meat in a can so I’m probably being a bit harsh on spam!! I should probably try it before I dismiss it. Was very exciting to see the digital confirmation… I can still hardly believe it! I feel like my period is starting everyday so not sure how long my excitement will last :-/

      Reply
      1. journeyformybaby

        Lol ik what u mean! I keep thinking “if i can just get to such and such point i will relax…” so far no relaxing lol but at this point I’m just so thankful for every day. Every hour!

  4. missymakes

    Yep, I found all your comments in my spam folder and pulled them out of there. Maybe if we go and mark all f your comments as “not spam,” Akismet will get the picture.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Bam indeed! I am getting a pain at one side now which is slightly alarming. It’s no good being pregnant if its in the wrong place! I’m going to do what any sensible person would do and ignore it for a few days x

      Reply
      1. IVFfervescent gal

        Why do you think it’s in the wrong place? Couldn’t it be an embryo rooting around in there?

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        I don’t know, just feels a bit sore one side. Been googling ectopic pregnancy to panic myself. It’s probably my giant right ovary causing trouble.

      3. IVFfervescent gal

        Yeah you’re right, it’s probably an ectopic pregnancy with a cancerous tumour on top and bit of AIDS virus inside. Or the plague. Can’t tell for sure right now, but definitely one of those two :)))

  5. Isabelle

    Oh 1) I like spam and I know it is not entirely good for you and 2) could you please post a photo of your clearblue?? not many of my secret facebook group friends would humor me by buying a $20 test and showing me the word “pregnant”.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Ha ha, I will bear that in mine for my next post. Feel a bit weird publishing something I have weed on though. I can’t believe the dramas you have had this week… I’d be a quivering wreck! Hoping for more good news for you – you deserve it!! xxx

      Reply
  6. Heavy Metal Overload

    Hi, I’ve been having the same problem as yourself regarding being treated as a spammer. I’m wondering if you have had it fixed yet? And also wondering if this comment will make it through your spam filter or not! Here goes…

    Reply
      1. Heavy Metal Overload

        I think its ok now… I didn’t get a response from Akismet but I was commenting today and it was fine! It was such a nuisance and I got so worried people would think I was ignoring them!

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Phew, I’m so glad it’s fixed. It was so annoying not being able to comment on blogs. You will have tons of comments soon… I’ve had 568 already 😮

      Reply

Leave a Reply

