“Barren” Betty

So, I bet I know what you are wondering. Why isn’t it possible to lick your own elbow when it really, really looks like you can when you look at your own elbow? Why do I always, always put my knickers on inside out even when I try really, really hard to work out which way round they should go before I put them on? When there is so much air around, why do flies always fly straight into my hair or into my eyes? These are questions I can’t answer, so please stop asking them.

I imagine you are also dying to know what have I been doing the past two weeks while I have been navigating the dreaded Two Week Wait. Yes? Thought so. Well, I can tell you that I have been a busy girl. Evidence:

1. I have read a lot of books (current tally, five since egg collection, plus two that I just can’t get into and yet persist in a half-hearted I’ll-read-a-chapter-on-the-toilet kind of way). I am currently reading Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, thanks to an excellento recommendation from Red Blue Bird.

2. I have taken a lot of naps. These have been highly successful since a) I am knackered all the time b) I am very lazy c) I have had crap all to do all day the last two weeks, and d) It is hot.

3. I have seen a deer swimming in a lake for the first time in my life.

4. I have embarked on a number of ill-advised bakery exploits that have generally ended in a big sticky mess, albeit a sticky mess that tastes okay provided that you eat it with your eyes closed.

5. I have spent a lot of time complaining about cramp and how scared I am about stopping progesterone today.

Between all the reading, napping, deer safari-ing, crap baking and whining, the Two Week Wait has passed pretty quickly for me.

So (drumroll) the verdict is in, and I am Officially Pregnant For The First Time Ever. I feel very lucky, especially since I barely scraped through the whole process with any eggs, embryos, or sanity to show for it at the end. I hope I stay pregnant; I am in unchartered territory now and I don’t know what to expect. The clinic told me there is a 20% chance of miscarriage, which I will endeavour not to think about. I am still panicking about stopping progesterone so early, but it is how they roll at my clinic and they do have a very good success rate. I guess I’ll just have to trust them and hope that my ovaries or corpus luteum or whatever is supposed to be mixing up and making the progesterone is better at it than I am at baking.

So that’s it. I’m pregnant and Betty is currently not barren.

(not so) BB xx

P.S. Just spoke to the clinic again and convinced the nurse to ask the doctor to write me another progesterone prescription for an additional 2 weeks, score. She seemed to think I was mental, but I don’t care.
P.P.S. Viability scan is booked for 12th August. Please be viable, please be viable, please be viable.
P.P.P.S. Please don’t freak me out with progesterone-stopping stories of doom, I’ve read loads on Google already ta.

63 thoughts on ““Barren” Betty

      1. babymaybeinfertility

        I’m getting there… I think I’ll test over the weekend which will be approx 12dp5dt – though blood test is not til Tuesday. Last time I waited until the blood test, and that day was awful waiting for the result, so I want an advance warning. Hopefully an advance warning that it is positive this time!

  1. journeyformybaby

    Ooooo its so exciting!!!!! And I am glad you get to continue progesterone. Even though its probably fine to stop, peace of mind is what’s important here. And all your baking stories are making me hungry whether they are pretty or not! 😉 Congratulations on being unbarren, fertile Betty! 🙂

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks dude 🙂 You wouldn’t be hungry if you could see them, trust me. I am a disaster in the kitchen, don’t know why I bother. The clinic called me back, and it is all go for another 2 week prescription which will take me to 7 weeks and my scan so I’m a bit calmer now. Cost me extra, but it won’t do any harm and should put my mind (at least a bit) at rest!!

      Reply
      1. journeyformybaby

        🙂 I understand completely. That’s the way I felt. Heck, I would have stayed on it 9 months if they had let me! Lol. Well, at least you try in the kitchen. That’s more than I can say most days.

  2. redbluebird

    A deer swimming in the lake?!? I live in an area with zillions of deer and many lakes and have never seen that. I’m so jealous!
    Congrats again to you 🙂
    I’m glad they’re giving you a couple of extra weeks of progesterone. I’m sure you’re fine without it, but better to ease your worries a little– there is enough to worry about in early pregnancy!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yeah, it will put my mind at rest (I hope). The clinic have been useless today with my prescription. Spent the whole day calling them and waiting for call backs, then they just went home without doing anything!! Useless. Hopefully I can sort it out on Monday, sounded like they were happy to give it to me anyway (for a fee).

      The deer were weird. Half were under trees and the rest were paddling and swimming?! They reminded me of hippos with just their noses sticking out, wiggling their ears.

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks very much, I can hardly believe it! I hope it sticks. I’m looking forward to getting the viability scan out of the way… Such a horrible name for it. It’s exciting to get this far though x

      Reply
  3. Isabelle

    I am so freaking excited for you! You’re one funny lady. 🙂 I would be nervous about stopping progesterone too. My hubs said you might have twins inside. 😀

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks Mrs!! What has your hubby based this prediction on? Is it a feeling he has, or is he a psychic? I have wondered about twins after getting a positive so early. I’ll be happy whatever, just as long as they carry on being average normal embryos and become average normal baby/ies!

      Reply
  4. Steph Mignon

    This is so totally exciting I can hardly stand it! The deer swimming thing especially (I kid, I kid). Seriously though… you’ve given me hope that perhaps I SHOULD just skip another IUI and move on to IVF. It IS after all this most successful approach when one does indeed have endo like you and I do. I’ll continue to send you lots of positive energy that all will continue to go well!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      The deer was pretty exciting, I grant you that. We do seem to have v similar IF problems and similar age etc. My clinic didn’t want to do IUI because my endo is so bad they felt that I didn’t have much time to wait before cracking on with IVF – esp since they wouldn’t do anymore operations. I have something crap like 1-2% chance of conceiving naturally (who knows how they came up with that statistic), but it went up to 40% with IVF. IVF does by-pass a lot of the IF problems endo causes. More of an emotional/physical/financial investment though. It’s tough! Obviously, right now I’d totes say go for it!!! xxx

      Reply
      1. Steph Mignon

        My RE has told me that exact same stat. The only thing is that right after the surgery (3 months) I conceived naturally defying the odds. Then of course I miscarried because of yet another statistical anomaly (triploidy). So I guess there’s been a part of me that was holding out hope that something less invasive could work for us – that I could be the anomaly once again. Sigh. I’ve been coming to terms with the fact that it probably ain’t gonna happen. But when I see things like your most recent posts it gives me so much more hope. 40% still isn’t great, but it’s far better than 1% and I’ll take what I can get!

  5. canadianivfjourney

    Was thinking of you this morning and logged in specifically to check in on your update.

    I’m so absolutely, completely, utterly thrilled for you! You have a wonderful and exciting journey ahead of you, and you have no reason to think otherwise. Remember, a 20% chance means there’s an 80% chance it WON’T happen… 80%!!!! That’s pretty freakin’ good odds!

    My DH doesn’t want me to do a test before the official one on Monday… so I’m hanging in there for now. Even harder now I know someone else who was transferred on the same day as me has their result… hopefully lightening strikes twice and we’ll be having our little ones at about the same time.

    Good luck with everything xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I’ve been wondering how you are getting on!! Thanks for your message… I can still hardly believe it, even though I’ve been testing (twice a day don’t tell anyone) all week. My DH didn’t want me to test until OTD either. You listened to your’s and I tested every day, 5 days in advance, 4 different brands of test, twice a day. Oops.

      I’m so happy I’m finally in the ‘it will probably work out well’ side of the statistics… For the first time EVER! I’ll take 80% chance, yes please with jam on.

      I’ll be thinking of you on Monday. I had a little cry when you said we might have little ones at the same time. I can hardly believe that will happen or dare think that far ahead. It seems insane after the last 3 years of never been pregnant. Super, super, super good luck for Monday – this weekend is gonna drag bad for you!! Fingers crossed big time cycle buddy xxx

      Reply
      1. canadianivfjourney

        Thanks… it’s nice to have someone that’s going through it all too… and here’s hoping Monday brings great news and we can not only be cycle buddies… but pregnancy buddies too :).

        xxx

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I’d recommend aquatic deer, naps, books and baking to keep you occupied during your 2WW as well. And The Tudors. Did I already say that a hundred times? God I love that show. I’m going to go watch some now.

      Reply
  6. Fertility Doll

    The interwebs ate my message. Straight after work, I switched online to look for your update. Soooo pleased for you. Yaaaayyy! Here’s to August 12th getting here quickly. x

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      The interwebs eat my messages too. Thanks for your message 🙂 I can hardly believe it! Can’t wait until 12th August to check it’s a real baby, in the right place, doing the right things. I so hope nothing goes wrong, but I’m just trying to take it one day at a time x

      Reply
  7. Pingback: When every minute seems like an hour… | An IVF journey in Canada

  8. Bachelor's Button

    Wow great news! When I got pregnant 2 years ago with ivf I went for a little walk after embryo transfer and was sitting in the wood when a mother deer with two tiny (2 days old) foals came out into the clearing where I was). It turned out I was preg with twins! Not sure what this means for you? Pregnant with a future olympian swimmer? !!! I’m mid 2ww so maybe I hope I hope, following in your shoes… Hx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I can’t believe that about the deer! That’s so funny. We have obviously found somekind of link between fertility and deer. I walked through the park straight after my embryo transfer too… AND SAW DEER. Coincidence? I don’t think so. Hope your 2WW is going okay. I’ve just followed you so I’m going to go and spend some time snooping on your blog now 😉

      Reply
      1. Bachelor's Button

        Some pagan fertility right?!! My blog has been going for seven years now!!!! Eek. Avoid the sad bits – need to keep happy in this pregnancy so miss out feb- April of last year. And April 2008. Oh actually just read the about me and you’ll get the gist! Hx

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        Wow. You have really been through it. Your blog is amazing… You are a seriously strong person! I can’t even imagine how hard it must have been to go through all of that. I really hope the end of your 2WW brings you good news xxx

      3. Bachelor's Button

        Ah but hope keeps us going! Wd you mind if I add your blog to my blog roll ?

  9. missymakes

    Congratulations, Betty!!! I’ve missed so much in blogland these last few days. I’m so happy for you and excited to have another pal to embark on this whole new journey (pregnancy after infertility) with!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks dude 🙂 I’m crapping my pants now. I just keep wondering how long I will stay pregnant for *smacks hand* How many weeks are you? Will you have a scan soon? I’d really like to just get past 12 weeks so I can relax a bit (probably wont really relax a bit).

      Reply
      1. missymakes

        I know – I feel the same way! I keep waiting to feel pregnant. I’m 5w5d and still don’t really have any symptoms. My first scan is next Monday, the 29th. I’ll be 6w5d then. I think I really need that scan before I can believe there’s really a healthy baby (or two) in there! I think I’ll be able to relax once I’m past 12 weeks, but that seems sooo far away right now. For the time being, I’m trying to enjoy every day of pregnancy because know it could all be taken away from me at any time.

  10. catschristmas

    OMG!!!!!!! I’ve been away from blog land the last few weeks so only now catching up! I’m so so so thrilled for you!!!!!! Seriously, you have made my day!!!! You can breathe out now. Wow well done, and I can’t wait to hear how you handle the next few weeks! I bet you just can’t wipe the smile off your face too! Thrilled xxxxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yay, hello! How are you doing? I am most definitely NOT breathing out, I have the worst drug bloat you have ever seen. If I let that bad boy out I’d look 7 months pregnant already. I still can’t believe it really. Half of me is in shock still and the other half just keeps wondering what will go wrong. I think I’ll feel better once I’ve had the viability scan. I’m feeling pretty shit though which I’m taking to be a good sign! I hope you are well and haven’t had anymore random disasters/been falling off any bikes again xx

      Reply
  11. Pingback: Progesterone, progester-woes, when do we stop it? Nobody knows | barrenbetty

  12. lamentingthelentil

    Holy shit! In my own crazy pregnancy excitement and subsequent horrible anxiety, I completely missed this. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! It worked! That is incredible. And we are the same amount pregnant (ish). Or damn near close. Also, I loved Middlesex when I read it years ago. So much so that I’ve been putting off reading his newer book, The Marriage Plot, because I want to save it. I do that with my favorite authors – space their books out over the years – so I don’t read them allatonce and then have nothing. And finally, so cool that you got to see swimming deer. So so cool.

    Whoohoooooooo!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yay, congratulations to you too! I am 5 weeks now, what about you? We must be pretty similar. I think you have a scan before me though? Mine isn’t until I am 7.5 weeks. Hurry up time!!! I am the total opposite with books. If I read one I like, I just go mental and read all the others by the same author immediately, then feel really sad when it’s over 😦

      Reply
      1. lamentingthelentil

        I’ll be 5 weeks tomorrow. It’s such a truly frightening but also wonderful feeling, isn’t it? Too bad we can’t drink heavily and brown out the time until first scans, right?

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        Hang on… I’m 5 weeks tomorrow as well!!! YAY!!! A few drinks to see us through to scan day would certainly help. A glass of sparking water just doesn’t quite do it.

      3. barrenbetty Post author

        Yeah! High five! Let’s compare paranoid notes over the next few weeks. We can compare every pregnancy twinge/potential symptom. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

