The day before

I bet you have been fretting the last few days with me. Well my friends, fret no more for we are at the Eve of Viability Scan Day. It’s a bit like Christmas Eve, but without the Christmas tree, excitement and alcohol.

All I have to say on the subject is that I have never been so worried about anything in my entire life.

On other subjects, I have two things to tell you.

1. As of yesterday, I have an allotment!

Oh, my sweet joy knows no bounds. If you live in a country where there is abundant open space and houses aren’t packed next to and on top of each other, you may not know what an allotment is. Maybe I am underestimating you, I don’t know. Maybe you don’t give a rats ass. I have my suspicions I know the answer to that. Anyways, an allotment is where they divide up a big plot of land into lots of smaller plots and you then rent them off the council. Most people use them to grow their own organic produce. That is certainly my intention. I also want sunflowers. At the moment we appear to have rented a thick, overgrown world of brambles and weeds, but we did notice some strawberries, raspberries and blackberries lurking in amongst the mayhem.

2. I have had my first ever migraine.

My joy is less abounding with this one. After my whingy pants post earlier this week (sorry about that), I had about 36 more hours of no symptoms followed by the mother of all headaches, accompanied by severe vomiting. I’ve never been stabbed in the head, but I have a feeling it may have felt like my migraine. My Mum has suffered from debilitating migraines for as long as I can remember. She has been on clinical trials she is such a migraine expert. Her migraines ruined many family trips, birthdays, days out. Yeah, they are pretty bad.

Note: I can’t emphasise enough just how bad her migraines are. They are also very frequent. I often (through my sympathetic tears, obviously) rejoiced that I did not inherit this dreadful affliction.

My Mum announced yesterday that she had her first migraine when she was about 6-7 weeks pregnant with me, her first child. I am simultaneously both overjoyed and despairing that history appears to be repeating itself.

I don’t know how to end this post. Or this day come to think of it. Sorry for the abruptness, I hope you don’t feel like you have just tripped over. That’s how I feel when things end abruptly.

Tomorrow can’t come soon enough.

Wish me luck,

BB xx

15 thoughts on “The day before

  1. lamentingthelentil

    man, sorry about the migraine. i sincerely hope that yours do not become normal and frequent occurrences, but holy cow about the similarity of when your mom’s started. congrats on the allotment! our tomatoes are going NUTS right now, but they’re all still green. next week we’ll be going from none to about 50. and that smell of tomato plant on your hands? well, I’m glad you’ll be able to experience that. along with this baby. can’t wait. good luck, woman. it was there scariest/best day of my life.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Ah, the fresh tomato vine smell… Yuuuummy. I can’t wait! Think we will be weeding and digging for weeks before we can plant anything… It’s in a right state. I so hope tomorrow is the best day of my life too. I’m absolutely crapping my pants now x

      Reply
  2. stillamamawannabe

    Good luck! Good luck!!! I will be thinking of you, praying for you, and waiting with you for your news! I hope your day today goes as quickly as possible!!! Every step of waiting through this whole process just gets more and more excruciating and seems to go slower and slower. God speed today! As for the allotment, how exciting!!!! I love my garden almost more than anything! I bet you’re so excited to grow fruits and veggies for your baby! πŸ™‚ xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! That is so true.. Each step definitely seems to be that little bit harder and take that little bit longer. I feel like I’m slowly climbing a massive mountain and each time I pull myself up I’m half pleased, and half terrified of how far I have to fall!!!

      Reply
  3. Isabelle

    You’re so funny. πŸ™‚ 1) will be thinking of you and can’t wait to hear great news 2) the allotment sounds great! I have my backyard that I thought about planting something but I think eventually we’d just do plants rather than veggies 3) sorry about your migraine; I had one migraine in my life. I know exactly how it feels and I am really really sorry you had that one. I hope that you don’t follow the trend of your mother’s. 4) I often don’t know how to end of post. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! I was just wondering how you were this week.. Err, if that’s not weird!! Are you starting another cycle soon? Hope you are doing okay xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

