Swimming and cheese

I don’t have much going on. No AMH news report. Extreme cramps but no uterus action. I have started going swimming in an effort to get healthy again (not sure how much swimming I need to do to cancel out all the pizza and wine but it can’t be much; swimming is hard).

Some fun things I have overheard whilst swimming this week:

“Do you want to go in the jacuzzi after this? Just make sure you don’t scratch them or they will bleed and you will get an infection.”

(I know… FUCKING HELL. She looked like the type of person who might have a scabby infection as well. Lesson: never, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD go in a jacuzzi unless you have some kind of full protective suit on).

“Oh, and der yer know wha’ else? Nana has gone proper fucking mental now.”

“But last time you bought the lunch and I just bought the tea.”
“Yeah, but we didn’t eat much did we?”
“I guess not. What did we have?”
“Soup.”

“You’ll never guess what.”
“What?”
“Pam has only gone and left her pound in the locker.”
“Jesus, that’s Pam.”

“Why do you have hair there mummy?”
“Be quiet Joshua.”

“Mummy, if I crawl along on the floor I can see everyone’s big feet.”

“What are you going to wear then?”
“Y’know those trousers I wore to George’s funeral?”
“Yeah… The black ones?”
“I’m gonna wear them.”
“Lovely.”

Nowt else much to say. I went to the theatre, I’ve been swimming and I’ve done work… Progress. I heard a new cheese joke:

Q: How do you approach an angry Welsh cheese?
A: Caerphilly

Hope you all have a great weekend!

BB xx

18 thoughts on “Swimming and cheese

  1. Steph Mignon

    Ahhh Betty, you and your Betty-esque humor! This brightened my Friday, as I’m feeling particularly useless today. I didn’t get the cheese joke though. But take pity on me, I’m just a stupid American. 😉

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Uh oh… I’m not sure Betty-esque humour is a compliment!!! It’s a welsh cheese joke so since you are American you are excused 😉 You really need to be able to read it in a Welsh accent to get it!

      Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        Haha! It gets less funny everytime I try to explain it… It wasn’t very funny to start off with!! Caerphilly is a place in Wales. If you say it out loud it sounds like ‘carefully’. Hmm. No, not so funny now :-/

      2. Isabelle

        Ah ha! Thanks for the explanation! It IS funny when you get it. I probably need to be more educated on places in Wales. 😀 Can’t blame a Chinese girl who lives in the US.

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      There were some pretty unusual people in the swimming pool last week! I was a bit annoyed when I got in because it was really busy, but it cheered me right up listening into their conversations!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

