A unicorn must have licked my face…

…because there is just no other sensible explanation for what happened today.

Thank you for all the universe raging/sacrifices/magic spells/onesie wearing you did on my behalf because I cannot believe I am getting to write these words… MY APPOINTMENT WASN’T BAD NEWS!!!

It started off much better with perky waiting room songs. I was slightly embarrassed that Mr Barren sang along whilst looking at the work he brought with him. He denies all knowledge of this now, but I have ears and so did the rest of the waiting room. When I looked at the other stricken faces around me, I just didn’t have the heart to shush the one completely oblivious chirpy person in the room.

I trudged into the scanning room on my own. It was a trainee sonographer so I couldn’t ask all my usual questions since it seemed like she needed to concentrate somewhat, and for once I couldn’t see the screen. It took a long time to scan me. IVF nurses are obviously more used to sights such as the disaster area that are my ovaries and uterus, but New Lady was clearly not used to such unappealing insides and exclaimed, lamented and gurned throughout. Slightly disconcerting. My hurried defence of, “I have severe endometriosis, really it was worse before the operations!” was met with a sorrowful nod of understanding, but I still felt a tad sorry for my ugly innards.

The trainee was being trained by another lady who would. not. tell. me. anything. She told me to go outside and wait for the nurse. Yeah right, you say “wait for the nurse”, I say “sweat out 15 litres and turn into a wet, dribbling mess over the 50 minutes they make you stew while the nurse… does what exactly? Plays solitaire? Practices handstands?” Lucky for me I was about a foot taller than the sonographer and a good 20lbs heavier so I just stood my ground while she tried to manoeuvre me and read the chart over her head. Short people like it when you do that don’t they? Even without my glasses on I could see an “x” next to that beautiful number, 21mm.

I still turned into a wet, dribbling mess in the waiting room but I needn’t have. I appreciate that for the general population of 31 year old IVFers, this isn’t anything to get excited about, but I am freaking OVER THE MOON. Ladies, we have 3 follicles. THREE! God knows where they sprouted from, but they are 18mm, 20mm and 21mm. My lining is now a majestic 16mm.

I am so excited to type this, I’m going to give it its own line:

Egg collection is Friday.

Whoo hoo! Whatever universe badgering/candle lighting/magic charm casting shizz you guys did on Monday… keep it up!

πŸ˜€

BB xx

69 thoughts on “A unicorn must have licked my face…

  1. Steph Mignon

    Wow that is awesome! I’ve been following your progress from my mobile where it’s hard to comment, but this post warranted a return to the computer. Amen sister! Let that unicorn continue to lick until she gets to the center of the tootsie pop (not sure if you’ll get that reference over there in the U.K. but whatevs) to reveal at least one healthy, happy, and ready to sprout into the most amazing baby embryo. Can’t wait for your next update!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh man, I mean, it’s completely crap really but after Monday it feels brilliant! The endometriomas I have are really in the way so got a long way to go yet, but at least I’m getting there. I don’t know what a tootsie pop is, but it sounds good! xxx

      Reply
  2. SubFertileChick

    Oh my days!!!! 3 perfectly sized follies & a thick lining! Thank god you decided to carry on with stims. I am so over the moon for you (especially as 3 was a magic number of follies for me!) let’s hope 3 is the magic number for you too. So, so happy for you! xxxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yippee! Thanks lady πŸ™‚ The nurse seemed astonished after Monday. I’m a bit suspicious they didn’t scan me properly on Monday… she was so quick. Whatever, I don’t care now! So glad I didn’t cancel it two days ago. I hope three can be my lucky number too πŸ™‚ xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Geez, you could have told me. I spent all day in bed yesterday crying! The follicles will be hard to reach with my endometriomas but it’s a step in the right direction at least. Hooray!

      Reply
      1. ivfdream

        Great stuff! I have endometriosis as well but it never caused issues with retrieving eggs. You’ll be fine. They’ll get the eggs, have faith!

      1. barrenbetty Post author

        Aww, thanks. I was an absolute mess yesterday. They thought it’d be cancelled, then at best one follicle if not so I was worried I’d need to make a call whether to go ahead or not with one. Definitely didn’t see this coming… hooray! xxx

  3. buckrugerlayla

    YAY YAY YAY!! I am so very happy for you and so stoked for the unicorn saliva! I hope is smelled and/or tasted good πŸ˜‰ Maybe the trash talking helped those ovaries perk up a bit. You just have to do that sometimes πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I never thought I’d be this excited over three follicles, but I am!! My crap ovaries obviously heard us bitching them out… yippee xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I know!!! Cannot believe I could have cancelled… I was so sure it’d be over yesterday. After 2 eggs last time and being on the max dose this time, I would have imagined being really disappointed with 3 follicles but the way it’s played out, I’m over the moon instead! x

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! Can’t believe I am quite so excited about three follicles, but I’ll take it over being distraught at a cancellation! I’ve been wondering how you are doing… long time no speak! How’s it going your way? xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      It so is!!!! Thank you SO much! Can you keep the good vibes coming? 16mm seems slightly over enthusiastic to me, but better than too thin… did my first progesterone last night and I swear I have side effects from it already. The joys of IVF! :/ xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks πŸ˜€ I can take a few more little bumps if it means we get the big bump. I’d rather not though… Think this cycle has just about taken all my energy and most of my sanity.

      Reply
  4. The infernal infertile

    I hope it wasn’t all the kitten-kicking I did that led to this… But just incase… I’m off out to boot some midget moggies…

    So freakin’ glad to hear some good news for you after all you’ve been through. Everything (even my hair) is crossed for three good eggs on Friday… Or more if the unicorn licking continues.

    Xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! I am starting to get a bit scared today :/ I need to keep reminding myself that three follicles is about a trillion times better than one or none. I don’t get a fert report until Monday when the transfer will probably be (fingers crossed).. Going to be a loooong weekend!!

      Reply
  5. Irene

    Just caught up with your time line, very happy to read this post. Shows that miracles do happen. Really, really hope you’re on a roll from now on. Hoping to read more good news soon xx

    Reply
  6. jessi

    Hi Betty! I just found your blog today by Googling “IVF humor”. I’ve been thoroughly entertained ever since. Wish I lived across the pond or you lived here in ‘merica, because I want to be BFFs. Hope that didn’t sound too stalkerish but I’ve been reading so many IVF blogs lately and there’s far too many women who’ve lost their sense of humor. Thanks for keeping it real, sista! And good luck Friday. I had my retrieval last Friday. 4 eggs, 2 fertilized and transferred on day 2.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Hey! I am totally in the market for a new BFF. We can be pen pals. I think if I stopped laughing, I’d just be a miserable puddle of sad on the floor… nobody wants to see that!!

      Ooh, you’re in your 2WW! Sending you sooo much good luck πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

