I have the plague

I definitely have the plague. It can’t be anything else because I feel too poorly. My fever peaked at an impressive 103.5F today. Isn’t that close to the temperature when you set on fire or melt or something? I’m pretty certain I saw a unicorn last night, or hallucinated one in my feverish delirium. I told Mr Barren off because he really isn’t showing much interest in how poorly I am. This is as good as it got:

ME: I am so poorly. I’m a feverish and shivery and all my joints hurt. I feel like I’ve been trampled.
MR B: oh dear.
ME: you aren’t being nice enough to me. I need looking after.
MR B: I’m not really am I? exaggerated oh dear voice poor widdle Betty.
ME: you are useless.
MR B: shall I go and get you some lemons then or something?

Seriously. I feel SO POORLY. Are you bored of this yet? My chest is tight and wheezy. I feel a serious cough about to erupt, and when I cough it’s not a normal cough, it’s like polar bears fighting. I’m so sure I’m going to cook or cough this embryo out. Can that happen? I can’t believe it. This is the worst I’ve felt since I got a chest infection for 4 weeks in April 2003.

Oh yeah! My NEWS!

Guys, I AM PUPO!!!!!

After the lamest cycle ever and a 3 day wait for a fertilisation report, I finally got word this morning that one of the eggs fertilised normally. This was a very protracted conversation that almost lead me to heart failure, but I won’t bore you with the details. Don’t get me wrong, I totally normally would, but if you remember: I am poorly.

We had one 7-cell, 3 day embryo which by the time we rolled up for the transfer was a compacting 7-cell. I am having a wobble that it is an uneven number and it should be 8 cells, but a chance is a chance. The embryologist assured me compaction was good progress and showed me a picture of the embryo on the TV screen. You guys, it looked goddam perfect. All round and compacting. They grade them on a 1-4 basis on development and quality where 1:1 is the worst and 4:4 is the best. My little unicorn fighter is 3:3. At least that’s what the embryologist said, but it looked like a textbook perfect one to me. Maybe she was just jealous or something?

I think I’d better go back to bed. Lolz, okay I’m already in bed but I’m going to lie back down now. Anyone who wants to reassure me that the plague won’t kill the embryo, I can’t cook it or cough it out or sick it up etc etc is most welcome.

*high fives every single one of you*

BB xx

P.s. Don’t say The Thing.
P.p.s I am never going to mention The Thing again.

56 thoughts on “I have the plague

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Just me requesting that nobody utters the bad words, “it only takes one”. It’s like my kryptonite or something. I can’t quite believe I have a good quality embryo on board after the palaver that was this cycle. Feels like a miracle really!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, thanks 😉 I felt a bit sad about the other egg that didn’t fertilise properly, but so so happy to actually have the chance of getting pregnant again. Fingers crossed! x

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks 🙂 I mentioned the fever to them and they didn’t seem very concerned… Just told me to keep an eye on it. I’m not a very good patient. I want to get better soon!

      Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        Someone else asked me that, but I’ve never heard of Tylenol!?! I don’t think we can use it much here. They said I could take paracetemol and codeine if I felt really poop. I think I feel a bit better today so fingers crossed I’m on the mend!! xx

  1. jessi

    Congrats! Hope you feel better soon. The “cervix is intended to keep things in” or at least that’s what the nurses tell me.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! They had quite a nightmare getting the embryo in the other way, so in theory it shouldn’t be too easy for it to get out on its own!

      Reply
  2. Bachelor's Button

    Sounds mighty fine to me. My boy was a grade 3 embryo and I had a stinking cold. Loads of honey and lemons .- oh and laugh a lot. It improves implantation rates significantly. I suggest the weAtherman scene from anchor man two on a loop. Hxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh yay, that’s encouraging! I’ll add Anchorman to my list of stuff to watch the next 2 weeks. I’ve just started watching the American Office too which is well funnies 😀

      Reply
  3. amh! omg!

    Yay I don’t know what the thing is but hoping your fever helps to incubate the lil embryo! Get your husband to make you chicken soup xx good luck!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Just me whinging about people telling me, “it only takes one”… It’s a particular bugbear of mine!! Thanks for the good luck 🙂 I could do with some nice chicken soup right now… Good plan!

      Reply
      1. amh! omg!

        Just chuck a chicken in a pot with lots of veg, garlic, ginger, onions, a few cloves, some peppercorns, bunch of thyme simmer for an hour and 20 mins. Take the chicken out (be careful as it will all fall apart) shred it whack it back in the pot and add shredded cabbage. Of course you should get your husband to do it!

  4. kiftsgate

    I’m going to be gross. What’s a pregnancy symptom? puking. And embies don’t get ejected by puking! So coughing won’t be any different! So don’t worry about being sick. Try to get better. But it may actually help to relax and not think about it too much. I hope you can stay home from work!
    Husbands really need to improve their nursing skills. When I’m sick I get told off for coughing during the night. 😦
    Good luck with the TWW!
    xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! So typical to get ill now. Good excuse to lie in bed and watch films though 😉 I’m only working from home at the moment, so that’s been good!! Has been excellent for fitting in all my IVF appointments too.

      I cried last night because I felt so poorly and my husband was all grumpy about me keeping him awake!!! They whinge so much too when they have a cold. Useless!

      Reply
  5. Clare

    It only takes…. KIDDING!! I wouldn’t dream of finishing that sentence. I can however give tell you what my doctor said after my transfer – “it’s like a piece of sand in a peanut butter sandwich”. That pretty little embie of your’s isn’t going anywhere.
    Feel better!! My hubs is useless when I’m sick too. I always want to call my mom.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      LOLZ!! I just snorted drink out my nose so thanks for that. I like the idea of it being like a grain of sand in peanut butter. I watched a scary film in bed this afternoon and it kept making me jump, then I panicked the embie would fire out. I’ll stop worrying about that now.

      Reply
  6. mammacod

    YAY for being PUPO! Sorry you have the plague. I imagine that’s terribly uncomfortable and no way to celebrate a fantastic 3:3 embryo. I won’t say anything. I’ll just keep everything crossed and twisted and tied for you. And sending lots of sticky wishes!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks 🙂 I was a bit sad this morning that the other egg didn’t fertilise normally, but now I’m just so relieved to have had a transfer! I think it’s a slightly better grade than I had last time so fingers crossed. Not sure I fancy going through this crap again anything soon!! xx

      Reply
  7. Irene

    Yay for PUPO! Don’t worry, being ill won’t affect your embryo. I had 4 UTI’s, an insane viral cold and a bad case of norovirus all in the first trimester of my pregnancy and bubs is absolutely fine. Can’t wait for you to get your BFP! xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh wow! That sounds horrible!!! You poor thing 😦 Someone else told me they had a really nasty UTI during their 2WW and high temperature and their baby is fit and well so fingers crossed it won’t do any harm. I really wish we’d been able to get a blastocyst so that I knew it was developing normally… there is such a lot that needs to happen on day 4 I really wish I knew what was going on! Oh well… at least I made it this far x

      Reply
  8. hopobopo

    Can you take Tylenol. I also am in the dreaded weight and somehow I’ve hurt my neck. I pulled a muscle or something is that even possible. I’ve been home since my transfer on Thurs. Go back to work on wed. Wahhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I’ve never heard of Tylenol?! Maybe we don’t have it here so much. They said I could take paracetemol with codeine if I felt really bad. That’s rubbish about your neck!! Why do our bodies do this when we have enough stress to be dealing with?!! When is your OTD? Are you going to wait and not test early? xx

      Reply
  9. mumofone

    I don’t think you want to hear my comment 😦
    No – you can’t cough out the embryo – but high temperatures (above 37.5C) can affect implantation. This is why the IVF clinics always tell us not to go in saunas or have hot baths after embryo transfer. When I was having my last 2 eggs put in I got bacterial pharyngitis 1.5 days after ET – I was taking Paracetamol every 6 hours (even set my alarm at night) in the hope that I could keep my 39.5 degree temps low enough for long enough not to affect my passengers. Remember not to take Ibuprofen as it can affect the lining (or so my clinic told me).
    Also – it sounds like you have a cough so you’ve probably just got a cold – but don’t ignore the chance you have an infection “down there” – remember they stuck needles through your vaginal wall to get to those ovaries and infection is one of the known risks of this procedure.
    Please take care of yourself and I will cross my arms/legs and eyes in the hopes that you have success this month.

    Reply
    1. mumofone

      Sorry I should have added that the reason I shared this seemingly negative news was so you could get started on taking Paracetamol regularly while you are having temperatures 😦

      Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        Haha, that’s fine!! I’ve been knocking back the paracetemol don’t worry. The clinic said I could take paracetemol and codeine too if I felt really bad. I think I feel a bit better today, just really achy still. I asked them about infections from egg collection and they told me to keep an eye on it, but that I’d have other symptoms too if it was that (which I don’t, thank goodness!!!). I think it’s just been a nasty virus… totally crap timing though! xx

  10. NotSoNewtoIVF

    Oh my god…Your body just keeps on giving! Hope you feel better or being sick takes your mind off 2ww!
    Your embie sounds perfect, I’m so pleased for you xx
    And of course I will not mention ‘the thing’, no matter how much love and light and purple spirit guides it’s meant with 😉

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      If positive thinking helped with getting pregnant I’d have been pregnant at least a hundred times already. Every single month I tried naturally I believed it was going to happen!! W-r-o-n-g.

      Reply
  11. NotSoNewtoIVF

    Oh and read a blog somewhere that a Dr said putting an Embryo in the womb is like putting a poppy seed in a jam sandwich. …it ain’t falling out. You can thank me for that image later!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Ahahaha, nice. Someone else said it was like a grain of sand in a peanut butter sandwich but your poppy seed in a jam sandwich is significantly more disgusting-sounding. I’m still trying not to cough anyway, which is backfiring because it just means I do a really loud, uncontrollable violent cough every now and again instead.

      Reply
  12. jinxgirl

    Hope you feel better soon, and remember it only takes one….. unicorn to make an embryo stick! 😉 (you know, the one that may or may not* have been an hallucination) *definitely wasnt

    Reply
  13. buckrugerlayla

    I am sooooo excited for you!!! But that sucks a big donkey one about being sick. Especially since Mr. B is clearly awesome at empathy. Men are ridic sometimes. Is your mum so stoked thought!!?? Also I have no doubt the embryologist was jealous. Hussy 😉 Yay!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

