This time will be different

I have been shovelling, literally shovelling, protein down my neck this week. What loony bin snacks on boiled eggs? Me, me, I do. I have drunk my body weight in milk* and I have taken my supplements every single day. I have eaten salads (homegrown, yo!), nuts and seeds, blueberries and avocados. Hell, I’ve even drunk coconut water every day despite it’s undeniable similarity to dribble (thank you, Turtle).

Will my ovaries thank me for this protein, superfood fuel? Will they reward me with more than one or two eggs?

I have no real signs that much is going on in there. On one hand, bad. On the other hand, I have no real signs that anything bad is going on in there either. I’m exhausted. Really, properly like, well tired. I hope this means my body is concentrating all it’s energy into actually growing follicles this time and I’m not misinterpreting my natural laziness for follicle-growing exhaustion.

So it’s scan day tomorrow. Tomorrow I can no longer pretend that This Time Will Be Different. It either will be, or it won’t be. I’ve done everything I can. I might chant it a few more times just incase I cast a spell and it works:

This Time Will Be Different
This Time Will Be Different
This Time Will Be Different
This Time Will Be Different

*tap twice on your head, twirl, look in the mirror, raise your eyebrows, then clap your hands and shimmy*

That’s the end of my spell. Oh wait, then eat a boiled egg whole with no hands.

Now I’ve cast my spell, I am going to predict the number of follicles. I think lazy lefty is brewing 2 and mighty righty is growing 4. Yep, I’m gunning of 6 follicles. You hear that ovaries? I WANT SIX. I want them ALL to grow equally, ALL to have eggs in and ALL to make embryos. No more empty follicles, no more immature eggs and no more only coughing up 1-2 eggs a round you lazy little turds.

What do you think? Do you think my spell will work?

Oh, I really hope I am reporting good news tomorrow and not bad news or a cancelled cycle. Please, please, please, please, please.

This Time Will Be Different
This Time Will Be Different
This Time Will Be Different
THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT

BB xx

*no mean feat

33 thoughts on “This time will be different

  1. Freija Chloe

    Fingers crossed for you!! And if it works I may need to discuss your spell casting consultant fees with you. My ovaries need a serious talking to as well.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Stupid ovaries, never do what they are told. I’ll see how it goes. If it turns out I am actually a wizard, I’ll waive my fees πŸ˜‰ x

      Reply
  2. julieann081

    If your spell works, I will be requesting my very own from you. πŸ™‚ Wishing you all the best for those 6! Tomorrow will be different! ❀

    Reply
  3. kiftsgate

    THIS TIME WILL DEFINITELY BE DIFFERENT!!!!!! I hope it’s not just different but AWESOME!! I’m sending over my super egg development powers (leaving out my super bad quality rate of course..). That should definitely give you at least six..
    All crossed for you for tomorrow lovely!!! xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks!! πŸ˜€ I definitely need some super egg development powers. I’m getting so nervous now. Not sure I’m going to sleep well tonight! xx

      Reply
      1. kiftsgate

        hope you’ll sleep but o/w welcome to the club! Been wide awake at 5AM for a week… i really need to find a way to destress..

  4. Smile

    Yes this time will be different! You hear that ovaries?? You have received magic protein and spells so it is time for you to grow some amazing fucking follicles. I demand this!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yeah, listen up you stupid ovaries!! I hope they are paying attention. I’m slowly getting more and more nervous since I wrote this post… I wish it was tomorrow already!! xxx

      Reply
  5. NotSoNewtoIVF

    This time WILL be different. The universe can’t be that much of a c*** surely? It’s done its bad work this week xx

    Reply
      1. Freija Chloe

        Your reply almost made me spray protein shake out my nose!

        “(The universe has) been a massive, massive nob. I want to smash it in the face.” – BarrenBetty

        Awesome!

  6. Searchingforourstork

    I’m sending lots of egg growing energy and cheering you on for half a dozen. You know it’s IVF time when you have to wake up at the butt crack of dawn, drag yourself to the laboratory to get your blood drawn, while trying to force down yet another hard boiled egg before you get there for fear of perfuming the waiting room with its oh so lovely odor. Ahh…the things we will do.

    Reply
  7. Gio

    Good luck Betty! I had my final scan today and egg collection booked for Monday. I can totally relate to this. Third time for me and I’m trrryyyiing to hold onto the ‘this time will be different’ attitude. Sounds like you’ve done all you can. Looking forward to reading how it went

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh, sooo exciting!! Sending you loads of good luck. Keep us updated on how it goes. I know it’s really scary once you’ve been through it twice and have it fail…. It’s too easy to focus on what can go wrong because you’ve lived through it already!! I’m not thinking too far ahead. Just focussing on each appointment as it comes. I’m not sure how I’ll feel if this one ends badly… I’m so, so sick of this shit now! Will be thinking of you on Monday xxx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

