Suspicions confirmed

I’m just going to get the bad news out of the way quickly, then we can pretend it never happened, m’kay? Apparently I can now add hydrosalpinx to my list of infertility woes. Oh well. It was a piece of crap tube anyway. I mean, who needs a tube that doesn’t let one measly egg down it in 4 long years? Not me, that’s who.

Okay, back to more exciting things. Firstly, it appears that my life long suspicion that I am actually a magical being from another realm is true. I KNEW IT!! Yes!! Anyone who wants me to write them a personalised magic spell, just ask. Secondly, apart from the crappy tube news, my ovaries are ALIVE! I have an 11mm on the left and a 12mm and 13mm on the right – I think that’s better than my other cycles already; three all close together and it’s only day 6. As well as those 3, I have 8 at 5-10mm and 2 at 0-5mm.

Yes my friends, your maths is correct: 13. One. Three. Who needs lucky number 6 when you can have, err, lucky number 13?

I also noticed something on my way out – I think today is a lucky day. It’s 23/5/14. That’s like, 12345 in the wrong order. Surely that means something. Oh yes.

Anyways, I’m cracking on now with the maximum dose of stims and cetrotide, then having another scan on Monday. They are guessing egg collection will be on Friday but there is an outside chance it could be Wednesday instead.

I never thought I’d be quite so happy on the day I find out that one of my tubes is blocked but hey, on balance I’ll take today as a win.

*taps twice on head, twirls, looks in mirror, raises eyebrows, claps hands and shimmies*

This time will be different!!! (Please, please, please, please, please).

BB xx

47 thoughts on “Suspicions confirmed

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, I always knew it really!! Been thinking of you this week. If you want an endo chat anytime let me know.. My endo is REALLY BAD! xxx

      Reply
      1. Wife of a Sailor

        Thanks. We’ll see if I have it… I hate to say I do and then have NOTHING come up with the lap, but there’s something wrong with me and since the doctor is pretty sure I do… we’ll see.

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      You knew it! You are a magical being from another realm too!! High five! Technically I have 9 on one side and 4 on the other. Lazy lefty is living up to her reputation. I just really hope some of the smaller ones grow now xx

      Reply
  1. Jenn

    Yay the spell works! You ARE a magical unicorn! I KNEW IT. Looking forward to seeing how the littles grow.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yes! I totally am! I’ve never had so many small follicles to start off with, but the ones I’ve had before never grew at all. Err, but THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT so I’m not permitted any worrying (yet).

      Reply
  2. Isabelle

    Yay for 13! Lucky number 13. šŸ™‚ I am excited to see where this leads. Sucks to have hydrosalpinx though. I wonder why they never caught it. When my RE suspected that I had it, she recommended tying the one side of the tube because the miscarriage rate for IVF with hydrosalpinx is higher, and she didn’t want me to have a higher risk of miscarriage if that was the case. It turned out mine wasn’t hydrosalpinx… Please look into it and talk to your doctors about it.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yeah, I need to speak to the doctor really. The sonographer and nurse just said not to worry…. They aren’t totally sure it’s in the tube because I’ve had a lot of “free flowing fluid” around my right ovary recently, and I always have a lot of fluid hanging about where it shouldn’t be. I’m going to try and corner a doctor next week. If it’s definitely in the tube, it’s not much and it’s high up near the ovary. Urgh, I really don’t need more problems right now!! Stupid insides. Hope you’re okay lovely xxx

      Reply
  3. hopefulandhungry

    Wow, best news of the day, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you will be able to relieve all lucky 13 or more. A friend of mine had a hydrosalpinx and is now pregnant. Keep us posted and I hope GA is on the books for you also!!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Aww, thank you! That’s reassuring to hear about your friend. I have a lot of fluid where it shouldn’t be around my insides, so I’m hoping it’s just that and not a proper hydrosalpinx but who knows. I was too scared to ask about the GA cos I was on my own!!! My husband will be with me on Monday so going to make sure they are sorting it out then… Fingers crossed! xxx

      Reply
  4. Smile

    Holy shitballs – 13!!! Lucky 13! That is so fucking fabulous, if I was able to drink I would toast to your magical powers. Sorry about the tube but the 13 definitely must help soften the blow. I might be on Wednesday or Thursday right along with you – I will do my magical spell dance as well from this side of the ocean.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oooh, exciting!!! Keep us updated on your progress next week! I can’t imagine all 13 will grow, but I’ve got my hopes up for more than 2 eggs this time which will be a new personal best. I’ll do you a magical egg dance too.

      Reply
  5. journeyformybaby

    Wow that is fantabulous!! Who would have thunk it! It’s great how close in size so many of those follicles are. šŸ™‚ What does the hydrosalpinx mean in terms of finishing this cycle? Do they have to tie it off or is it just another discomfort to have to deal with?

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yes! I’m excited to have 3 above 10mm all close together and I reeeally hope a couple of the 5-10mm ones will catch up. They said I am fine to continue with the fluid… I have a lot of fluid around my ovary anyway and they aren’t totally certain if this fluid is in the tube, or if it’s part of the fluid around the ovary. I am filled with mysterious fluid that shouldn’t be there :/ I’m going to try and check with my doctor though because I think the nurses tend to just fob things like this off. If it is in the tube like it appears to be, it’s not much and it’s high up by the ovary. Urgh, who knows. I want to pretend it’s not there but think it’s more sensible to check with the doctor. Boo.

      Reply
  6. NotSoNewtoIVF

    Ahhh man you never told me it was THIS good! ! I’m twirling and shimmying for you…but to be honest it’s all a bit disorganised and I’ll probably fall over cos I’m drunk! Xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Aww, I wish I could have seen the shimmying. I’ve never had any little ones under 10mm grow AT ALL during the second week of stims so, err, who knows. I’ve never ever had this many though so I am hoping at least a couple do a bit of growing.
      In entirely unrelated news, I had a dream about you last night. You were handing out chocolate bars and you gave me a Yorkie (for obvious reasons). I didn’t want to say that I don’t really like Yorkies because you were so happy to give it to me, but I really wanted a Double Decker. Meaning?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

