Normal

This is going to be short and sweet*, partly because the stims are making me tired, but mainly because I am making myself tired by staying awake all night fretting. Why does everything always seem so much more scary at night?

I’m still riding the wave of good luck I caught at the end of last week. I have to say, I used to think (pardon my Australian) that supplements were a crock of shit. No doctor ever told me to take supplements. They just said carry on eating well and don’t smoke. If you eat a balanced diet, who needs supplements? I thought they were for the Mother Earths of the world, not the Bettys. Well friends, I am going to have to eat those words (yak) because I have to admit the supplements are different this time, and there is no doubting that this cycle, so far, Is Different.

There are now eight (EIGHT!) follicles measuring 12-17mm and four (FOUR!) hovering around 10mm. We appear to have lost lucky number 13, but the rest of them have all grown around 4mm in 2 days. Nice. Real nice.

My lining, which in the past has managed to grow so thick even the consultant couldn’t believe his eyes, is… normal. Sweet. It’s currently a nice, boring, normal 8.3mm. Egg collection is Friday so it has plenty of time to rev up, but even for my body it would be going some to reach +16mm in 4 days.

I have one more scan on Wednesday, then (fingers crossed, please, please, please, please) egg collection will be on Friday.

I braved it and enquired about the general anaesthetic. I saw one of the loveliest nurses I’ve ever met in my life at the clinic today, and she just said not to worry, they were sorting it out and would talk me through it on Wednesday. Both of the people who scanned me on Friday and today had clearly read my notes and knew all about me, as had both the nurses.

This feels weird. Everything is going well. Hell, everything is going SUPERB. I never in my wildest dreams (and my dreams are pretty wild) imagined 8 big follicles growing, 4 smallies that might catch up, no cysts, a normal lining. Dare I say, it even looks like my special-treatment-we-never-do-this general anaesthetic egg collection is going ahead without me having to do chase anything or cry at anyone.

This time will be is totally different… so far. Yippee!

BB xx

*boring

42 thoughts on “Normal

  1. Mbg

    Hi 🙂
    So happy all is going well!
    What supplements are you taking ?
    I was told to stick to good old plain folic acid only.
    Thanks
    Xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Hello! Mine said supplements were fine, but they only recommend folic acid as a must-take. The new ones I took are L-arginine, solgar nutri nano coq10 & Aptimist pollen, then I kept taking omega 3, royal jelly & pregnacare conception x

      Reply
  2. kiftsgate

    Yuppy!!! Love this this-time-it-is-all-different cycle! Really hope everything will continue to go smooth and easy for you lovely. I really have to try your spell!
    Crazy how doctors can have opposite opinions on supplements. I also recently changed to a pro-supplements and it paid off, especially for my husband.
    Good luck for Wednesday!
    xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks lovely! I’m so happy it’s looking better this time… Hopefully it will continue for Wednesday. I’m so tired I can hardly keep my eyes open. I hope that’s a good sign! xxx

      Reply
  3. Jenn

    I’m feeling very superstitious lately and don’t want to jinx you. Instead of saying things, I’m going to twirl around, touch my toes, kiss the earth (carpet.. I’m not going outside, ew nature), click my heels three times, then give myself a self-high five and pretend it’s you. UNICORN ARMY UNITE!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, you make me lolz. For the duration of stims the new ones I’ve taken are L-arginine, solgar nutri nano coq10 & Aptimist pollen, then I kept taking omega 3, royal jelly & pregnacare conception.

      I’ve taken omega 3 and some sort of coq10 (at a whole range of doses, depending on how poor I was feeling!) since October last year, but the Solgar coq10 is a stronger version I believe. Fertility Doll kept telling me L-arginine was magical, and I have to say I think I agree. I’ve never taken it before, but I definitely would take it again.

      I also ate so. much. protein. And drank so. much. whole milk. Who knows if any of that helped, but I’m glad I gave it a crack anyway! Xx

      Reply
  4. Lisette

    Beautiful! I love this kind of news. Really pleased all looks and feels so “normal”. At last! Yay follies, lining & supplements! Yay awesome nurses! Yay anaesthetic! Crossing every appendage possible BB! xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you PSP! I am excited to be normal so far. I’ve never felt anything other than my normal endo pain during stims, but I am really quite uncomfortable this time. It’s stopping me sleeping, but it’s quite reassuring there is stuff going on in there for once! xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha. I did believe you, but the year-ago me would have thought you lived a little bit in fairy land. I can’t believe how many supplements I’ve bought and taken in the last 8 months or so. I don’t recognise myself anymore… apart from folic acid, I don’t think I’d ever even taken a multivitamin before in my entire life!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I am not sure whether it’s all just luck or not, but this cycle I was so desperate I just decided I’d take and eat anything (and everything, lol) x

      Reply
  5. amh! omg!

    Make sure to enjoy the general anaesthetic as much as poss. My husband had to ask if he should wake me after an hour as I was showing no signs of coming round. It almost makes the experience enjoyable. Then eat lots of M&S chocolate and a big sandwich and maybe some crisps. Good luck!!! Xxx

    Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        Aww, thank you! It definitely all feels so different to the other cycles. I can hardly believe it. I don’t want to get ahead of myself, but I am definitely hoping to beat my previous PB of 2 eggs!! You must almost be ready to pop?! Good luck for the next few weeks 🙂 xxx

  6. Smile

    Woo hoo! I did the supplements this go round as well, maybe they are unicorn dust and magic for us infertiles? I certainly hope so – will be slightly ahead of you on Wednesday but sending good thoughts and juju for amazing eggs on Friday!

    Reply
  7. myhopejar

    Yay!!! I’m so thrilled to read this! I don’t know how I missed this post! Good luck today! Everything is crossed for you hon. Everything!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

