I will have the lining of a 50 tog duvet by Monday

I was at the clinic for over 2 hours today. Geez, these monitoring appointments take FOREVER. I am a complete nervous wreck this cycle too. All that waiting really doesn’t help my mental stability.

I sat in the waiting room – which for some unknown reason is set to the temperature of the Sahara Desert – heart racing, gulping for air, sweaty, bright red and shaking with nerves. I looked across at Mr B who sat tapping at his work Blackberry, legs crossed tripping up every person entering the waiting room, absentmindedly picking his nose like only a man can.

It was at that moment when I was about to chastise Mr B for wiping bogies on his t-shirt when I looked at the other women in the waiting room. There were three. All slim, blond, attractive, and very stylishly dressed. They reminded me of my lovely pal Soops. I looked at myself. Leggings covered in a nice splattering of mud after walking outside in the rain, a purple top, cream cardigan, bright orange handbag and blue shoes. Oh, and a bright blue rain mac for good measure. Get dressed in the dark much? I was probably decorated with some stray bogies too. Mental note for next time: dress like a grown up and look in the mirror before leaving the house.

Okay, sorry, back to the nitty gritty. Firstly, I am being treated like The Queen. Obviously all the complaining has filtered through and there is a big red warning on my file. It was nice. I like being The Queen.

Follicles are continuing to out do themselves. I now have 10 (TEN!) all 14-19mm. There are 5 at 15mm, 1 at 14mm, then a 16mm, 17mm and 2 19mm-ers. There are 4 still under 10 which I guess we can discount now. But you guys, TEN! When it’s ten to ten and someone asks you the time do you say, “it’s cowboy time!” and then do the cowboy tune? No? Just me?*

Unfortunately, they aren’t quite big enough for egg collection on Friday and it has been moved to Monday instead. This is a) a hella lotta more money for drugs and b) bad for my over enthusiastic lining. Poops. If it carries on at the pace it has been, it’s likely to be at least 18mm by the time I have the egg collection. Not. Good.

Anyway, nothing I can do. The eggs are more important. Nobody is ever going to say, “well, you have no good eggs, but hell, ain’t that lining just peachy perfect!” are they? Well, maybe they would, but only if they are a moron.

The general anaesthetic is all booked in. No reminding, no crying, nada. I am The Queen now.

So the follicles are tres bien, I’m sad (and poor) stimming for 14 blooming days, the general is booked and my lining is going to be too thick, again. On balance, I think I am still winning this cycle, and more importantly it is most definitely, completely, entirely…

DIFFERENT!!!

BB xx

*and my dad.

43 thoughts on “I will have the lining of a 50 tog duvet by Monday

  1. hopefulandhungry

    You deserve to be treated like a queen after all the shit they have put you through. I’m so excited about your growing follicles and am thinking nothing but positive thoughts for your retrieval on Monday! I really truly hope this is IT for you!!! xoxo

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! I was disappointed it’s delayed til Monday and worried about the lining, but overall I think I’m happy now! Cannot believe all those follicles have grown… seems like a miracle!! xx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Hmm. It definitely didn’t look lovely :/ I’m giving up on my lining, it’s an idiot. The doctor said he would wash it at egg collection this time… Will see if that actually happens!! x

      Reply
  2. Dreaming of Diapers

    Ummm…Betty…can you please stop being a lining hog and throw some my way??? πŸ˜‰ Pleeeeaaase :)) Congrats on those follicles though…but seriously…the lining…I need some!

    Reply
  3. Freija Chloe

    Ha! Awesome!! You have me convinced and I am steadily gnoshing (yep, that’s noshing WITH a G… it’s silent) on every bit of protein I can lay my hands on. Now, about your lining… you’re MAGIC remember? Work a spell on the lining too! duh. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh OF COURSE! I just need a magic spell, duh. What am I worrying about? I am so sick of protein. I’ve been drinking tons of milk too and eating eggs… because err, eggs = eggs?? Keep gnoshing!! xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Me too! I can’t believe I have 10 follicles. The most I’ve ever had before is 3…?! Weird. I just really hope there are some eggs inside now! x

      Reply
      1. Isabelle

        I have had 4, 4, 1, 2 eggs so far. Maybe I’ll pump myself with lots and lots of protein so I’ll get more eggs too! You’ll find out about the follicles soon enough. It’s coming up! I sure hope that they are all there nice and plump!

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        It seems so random… I am dubious that my high protein and supplements have much to do with it, but I’d definitely do it again next time just incase!! Hope you are doing okay xxx

      1. Nushi

        Aww that’s sweet of you! We are well and the little one is growing up way too quickly πŸ™‚ we follow your blog regularly even though I don’t end up commenting much. Always in our thoughts …

  4. journeyformybaby

    Wow 10!!! I guess there really is something to all that protein then huh!! And the dance. You really are a genius! Don’t worry about the lining… we want those babies to have lots of soft squishiness to snuggle into. πŸ˜‰
    The booger comments proved to be too much for my childish brain. I swear I just told my husband the other day that I have the mind of a 14 year old boy actually. I always laugh about boogers and farts. What is wrong with me?????!!

    Reply
  5. kiftsgate

    You totally deserve being treated like a Queen. I also find the idea of a queen dressed in colour and with mud stains quite comforting! 10 embies is perfect!! Hope the lining won’t grow too much. Will be thinking of you on Monday! xx

    Reply
  6. myhopejar

    Yes! You do deserve to be treated like a queen. I’m so happy they finally are!! Those are great numbers hon. Everything is crossed for your upcoming retrieval!

    Reply
      1. myhopejar

        πŸ™‚ hang in there hon! You will get through this! Everything is crossed! Everything!

  7. ivfbegins

    All hail Queen Betty and her wonder follies. This cycle is definitely different. You must feel like you’re dreaming. xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, that made me laugh! This cycle is so different I can hardly believe it. I just need the follicles to actually have eggs in now. They were 75% empty last time, but I had a squizz at my notes at my last appointment and I don’t think the follicles ever got very big. Hope you’re okay lovely xxx

      Reply
  8. Jenn

    How can I be sarcastic when you keep posting good news? It’s throwing me off. We’re making breakfast burritos tonight for dinner. I will be thinking about your egg collection when I’m scrambling eggs, and then I’m going to be eating my egg burrito and laugh and N is going to be all.. what’s so funny? And I will be like.. BB is having her egg collection and we’re eating eggs. Get it? And he will be like.. sorry I asked.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I never want to even see an egg EVER AGAIN!!! Having said that, breakfast burritos sound pretty good. Maybe I can make an exception.
      You can still be sarcastic about my good news, I won’t mind!
      I’m really nervous about the collection, but the nurse said they normally write the number of eggs you get on your hand so you know soon as you wake up, which I am disproportionally excited about.

      Reply
      1. Jenn

        That’s actually a really good idea! Then you know straight away and don’t have to fall off the hospital bed and crack open your head just because someone wasn’t there to tell you immediately.

  9. Smile

    Thinking of you and sending fabulous amazing rays of sunshine for the retrieval! I see a wonderful general anesthesia and many eggs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

