Gone fishing

Holiday o’clock tomorrow. 10 days of sunshine, swimming in the sea, eating fine foods and cocktails awaits me. Obviously, I’d rather be pregnant and puking my face off in the toilet at home while it rains and thunders outside, but going on holiday is a close(ish) second I guess.

I’ve had an uneventful couple of weeks I won’t bore you with (you’re welcome). Minor incident in the swimming pool when for reasons unknown, I burst into tears during my 46th length and choked on water. Left the pool shame faced and sobbed in the changing rooms. Wondering if I am suppressing my mental a little too hard so it’s only method of escape is through dramatic, sudden outbursts of madness? Anyways, holiday nails, new holiday dresses and new holiday make up took the edge of that.

Don’t tell Mr B about all the holiday purchases will you? Oh, and don’t tell him I just downloaded 9 books onto my kindle either.

It’s Mr B’s birthday while we are away and for more reasons unknown, I have bought him a PS4. Goodbye marriage.

I got ID’d buying wine this week. Score.

I have eaten approximately 5,347 courgettes. Turns out that although I am a crap breeder, I can grow a lot of courgettes. My allotment is basically a courgette farm. Other exciting allotment news is that we have had salad (bucket loads), raspberries, strawberries, redcurrents, blueberries, turnips, beetroot, onions, potatoes and radishes. The onions have become caramelised balsamic red onion chutney and onion marmalade. I pickled the beetroot and we are slowly working our way through a metric ton of potatoes. Soon we will have peas, parsnips, sweetcorn, butternut squash, blackberries and apples. The fennel is clinging onto life despite being savaged by rabbits, but I fear the purple sprouting broccoli has gone the way of the bean plant and been eaten. I blame the pigeons. Fat bastards.

Some veggies for your eyes:

image

Chutney making evidence:

image

image

I walk past these wild flowers every day. Fields and fields of them. Pretty.

Well, fancy that. Turns out I did bore you with my uneventful couple of weeks after all.

Keep out of trouble while I’m away, ladies.

BB xx

22 thoughts on “Gone fishing

  1. hopingonhope

    A) a Holiday with new clothes and makeup b) so much farm fresh veggies and home made chutney c) you get ID’d for being underaged, i wonder how that must feel 🙂
    Lady you are killing me.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, yeah apart from the barren-ness I ain’t doing too bad!! I think I need to start dressing more like a 31 year old woman. I got ID’d earlier this year buying hayfever nasal spray. Err?!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      They are soo pretty and they stretch for miles. Well, maybe not miles, but there are loads. And thanks, I’m really looking forward to a holiday! 🙂

      Reply
  2. kiftsgate

    You are a woman of too many talents! I wish I could come eat some of your raspberries and courgettes!
    I’m braking my blogging break to wish you a super duper vacation! I’m also on vacation as from tomorrow. I hope we’ll both come back relaxed and feeling well. Or at least good enough to avoid crying at the swimming pool or, in my case, while going jogging (what’s with sports and crying!??!).
    Big hug!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I was thinking about you today! So glad your holiday starts tomorrow too. WHOOP!! I hope work was okay this week. I wish you could come and eat the courgettes too… I have so many!!

      I think it’s a bit too easy to think about things while you are exercising. Maybe we should just stick to boozing on holiday 🙂

      Miss you chica, hope you have a good break. Mwah xxx

      Reply
  3. redbluebird

    Enjoy your vacation! Love the pics. Beautiful wildflowers and good job with the vegetables! I currently have tomatoes, peppers, zucchini, blueberries and cucumbers growing, but all are being taken over by weeds. Oops.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Ooh, yummy! Our pepper plants didn’t grow properly this year.. Think I planted them when it was too cold. We are building a greenhouse for next year so hopefully they will be better then! I flipping hate weeds. Why do they grow so fast?!

      Reply
  4. Jenn

    How lovely! Am I the only one who thought you ate 5,347 CIGARETTES? I was like.. I don’t think tobacco has very much protein, BB. N has a PS4. It was an impulse buy right before his birthday a few months ago. I hope you like spending time alone? If Mr. B plays Final Fantasy 14, let me know. They can be buds and talk about how annoying their wives are.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Lol. I should have translated zucchinis for the Americans. I’ve never had a cigarette IN MY LIFE! How cool am I? I gave Mr B his present and he hasn’t uttered a word since, apart from “shit I’ve dropped my grenade”, “HOW DO I RUN?” and “oh no, I shot the dog again”. The games are so bloody expensive, I’m not sure I’ll let him buy anymore!!

      Reply
  5. Hope4babyover40

    Sooo impressed with your gardening skills! I managed a clump of new potatoes one year which basically did ONE potato salad for ONE meal… I wasn’t convinced they were worth the effort, so haven’t tried since. I also planted a wildflower garden last year, it was looking good the last time I went home but it’s been six weeks since I’ve been back now so not been able to check up on it in this hot weather… for the bees, you understand! Enjoy your hols! x

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! Hols were great. Don’t want to go back to real life now!! I have no idea what I’m doing growing the vegetables. I think the only reason everything hasn’t died is that my husband does all the hard work and I just prance about picking blueberries and stuff 😉

      Reply
  6. bebeparler

    You’re so industrious BB! Veggies and all that chutney? Fair dues. Love those wild flower fields, heavenly. Have a great break reading those 9 books and putting everything out of your mind 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

