Sweet.

Home sweet home, finally. Man that was a long day.

I didn’t have Hero doing my egg collection which initially made me a bit sad, but his boss did it so I decided to trust that he knew what he was doing. He is also dead nice.

I’m still a bit off my face so this will be short, and oh-so-very SWEET.

Yep, you read right. My scarred, mangled, broken you-will-always-have-a-bad-response useless turds of ovaries coughed up 6 eggs. Technically, they made 7 but one was a complete dud and has been discarded. Of the 6 (six! OH MY GOD) left the quality looks to be a bit naff. There isn’t actually much that they can tell at all from looking at an egg (I’ve learnt this the hard way when even mature looking eggs ended up being immature during previous cycles), so I’m not going to give it much thought. Embryo quality is a far better indicator, and even poor quality embryos can make babies. Out of the 6 (SIX OH MY GOD), one really does look proper naff so I don’t have high hopes for him.

This is better than I ever hoped for, and is as many eggs as my previous 3 cycles added together. Whatever the concerns about quality, this is still 6 (SIX OH MY GOD) chances.

I have such high hopes that I will actually have 2 early embryos to transfer on Monday. I’ve certainly never even had a chance of a blastocyst or frozen embryos in the past, and right now there is even a little chance of that. A chance. An actual, real chance. Maybe not a likely one, but I’ll take a chance. Oh yes I will.

I really wish I didn’t have to wait until Monday for a fert report.

BB xx

53 thoughts on “Sweet.

  1. myhopejar

    I was just about to send you a message letting you know I was thinking about you! I’m glad your retrieval went well. Six, that’s great news! I’m praying so hard for them to all fertilize and for you to have at least a few good ones to transfer next week. Sending you lots of strength to get through the weekend! How horrible that they won’t give you a progress report on the weekend.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks for the lovely message. I’ll be nervous this weekend, but I’m so grateful to have 6. I’ll always have a problem with quality because of the amount of operations I’ve had, but at least this gives me a better chance xx

      Reply
  2. pregnant in my forties

    Oh Betty, that’s utter amazeballs. Many many congrats, I’m so happy and hopeful for you, thought of you this morning. I had four eggs!!! Good to read in your post how nothing can be assumed at this stage but they were planning on icsi this afternoon. Feel slightly guilty that I will get a fert report tomorrow but that could just mean a faster unhappy ending, so at least with Monday you will get two full days of blissful (guarded) optimism. Enjoy them xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Four eggs from two mature follicles?! Holy cow! That’s amazing!!!

      The look of the eggs (and embryos) really is only half the story. I know lots of people who are pregnant and have babies from below average embryos. The look of them is just an indicator, and not even a great one at that. Lots of luck for tomorrow… keep us updated πŸ™‚ xxx

      P.s. I’m almost glad it’s Monday too… At least I can be happy for another 2 days!

      Reply
  3. Isabelle

    OMG! Yay! Six is an amazing number. So they don’t tell you how many have fertilized tomorrow? That sucks. I hope that this weekend goes by very fast for you!!

    Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        I’m surprised and impressed you have it over there..!! It’s pretty stupid humour. I’ve got loadsa comedy recommendations if you think Ab Fab is funny, hehe x

  4. Jenn

    I think your body is a bit bipolar?

    Also, I said you only needed ONE. Way to go egg crazy. Can you drink? I think that would help get through the weekend.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I might have a sneaky celebratory one πŸ˜‰ going to be happy this weekend until reality hits on Monday. 6 mediocre eggs are better than 1 or 2 so I’m happy today at least! xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I’m sure lots of people would be disappointed with 6 instead of over the moon, haha. It’s nice and sunny here this weekend at least so going to get out and about and try not to worry too much x

      Reply
  5. mumofone

    Woo Hoo – I knew the good wishing from Australia would pay off! How do I know? Well the country code for Australia is 61. And you produced 6 good eggs and 1 “naff” one. See – its all in the numbers!!
    No seriously – you did all that good work yourself! Good work Betty’s ovaries πŸ™‚
    Well now I am crossing everything for good fertilisation results on Monday!!
    Warm wishes πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      OMG, amazing. Thanks Australia! I’m getting v nervous about Monday now. My husband also just told me that they will call me this weekend if “something bad happens” so I’m on pins every time the bloody phone rings!!!

      Reply
  6. kiftsgate

    It’s just so good to read a post-EC happy post from you! You must be really relieved!! I am crossing everything for good news on Monday!! Hope you’re resting and enjoying the sun. xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I feel like I’ve been pretty lucky so far! Still can’t believe they got 6 from my dud ovaries. I wish it was Monday already… think i might have to get mr B to take the call. I’m a bag of nerves :/ I like to ask 5000 questions though, then make them repeat their answers a couple of times, then clarify everything again just in case to make sure I know exactly what is going on so maybe I won’t let him answer the phone after all, lol. He’s a bit too laid back!

      Reply
  7. pregnant in my forties

    How you feeling today Betty? Hopefully not too nervous. Fingers crossed it’s good news for you, will be thinking of you! 2 of mine fertiised, they are going back in tomorrow assuming all is still good. Let’s hope it’s good news for both of us xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I’m kinda enjoying the blissful ignorance to be honest. I’ve been here so many times before and the fert report has been dreadful! I know they go and check on the embryos at the weekend, and I would have hoped that as human beings they would have called me if none had fertilised but who knows. That’s great news that you have 2 from the 4! Do they give you grading information etc or do you find out when you get there? I really just want 2 early embryos to transfer… eek, roll on Monday x
      P.s. Good luck! xxx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

