It’s the fert report news you’ve probably not being waiting for, but I have

Making you wait 3 days for a fert report is cruel. I tried my best to keep calm this weekend, but I didn’t do a particularly great job.

There were just too many possibilities and things to worry about. My main worry was that none would fertilise normally. During my last cycle I only had 1 fertilise out of 3 and the doctors were negative about my egg quality at my follow up appointment. After that worry cloud passed, I worried that there would be a low number of embryos and I would want 2 transferred on day 3 but the clinic would want to wait for day 5. I worried that since the egg quality looked dubious, the embryos would be abnormal or poor quality as well.

I turned my phone onto full volume and stared at it for an hour waiting for the call this morning. That was a mistake. I was so full of worry that I nearly had a heart attack when the bloody thing rang at full volume, cried, and made Mr B answer it.

The one thing I didn’t consider even for a nano second was that all 6 would fertilise normally.

Just to clarify, all 6 fertilised normally.

One of them has arrested so there are 5 left now, all graded good (they rate them 1:1 being worst and 4:4 being best and these are all 3:3 to 3:4). The cell numbers vary from 5-8. Since they all look similar, they want to wait until day 5 to see which one is best.

I never thought this would happen, but fingers crossed, we will have a blast to transfer on Wednesday.

I’m determined not to spend the next 2 days freaking out that they will all arrest before then. I’ve always wanted to transfer a blast, and now that is a real possibility. I guess there is even an outside chance of a frozen embryo still.

I’m celebrating now by eating a danish pastry.

I really hope my luck holds out for another couple of days and we get to have a transfer.

I lied about not freaking out just then. I’m still a bit of a worry factory.

BB xx

63 thoughts on “It’s the fert report news you’ve probably not being waiting for, but I have

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yay! Thanks!! I can’t really believe it after all my uber shit cycles… I feel like it’s happening to someone else!! My husband just said that during IVF cycles you are on tenterhooks until you are let down (or pregnant I guess!) and that’s exactly how I feel. Constantly on edge! So excited for a chance of a blast though so I need to keep that in perspective. Eek!

      Reply
  1. mumofone

    Oh Betty – that is the most exciting most awesome news I’ve heard in a long time. I am so so so happy for you. I am screaming happy shouts of joy for you….well actually I’m not because you wouldn’t hear them from all the way down under…..but I’m shouting happy thoughts silently in my head πŸ™‚
    Hoping for further good news on Wednesday!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, thanks. I’m dumbfounded otherwise I might be squealing with you!! I so hope there is something good left to transfer on Wednesday. Another two days of waiting to get through. I’m so glad to have this to worry about though. Feels like a miracle πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. kiftsgate

    yeeeeaaahhhh that is one super fertilisation rate!!! 5 embryos out of 6 eggs! I dont understand why they say the egg quality is low.. anyhow, very happy for you and hoping for a great transfer later on this week. xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I don’t understand either really. I think it’s mainly based on my previous cycles being so terrible, empty follicles, bad fert rate etc. They don’t look like great quality ones but there isn’t much they can tell from the look anyway… Will just have to wait and see now. Keeping my fingers crossed! xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I’m so astonished to have 5 still growing I think it’s cancelling out some of my nerves. I really hope this is it, I’m so tired of all these cycles now x

      Reply
  3. Jenn

    You tricked me with your title. I thought it was bad news. Next time title it: SIX FERTILIZED NORMAL. IT’S OKAY JENN. CALM DOWN.

    Reply
  4. redbluebird

    I don’t know what’s wrong with me but this almost made me cry (in a happy way). I just know you deserve this so much & will be a wonderful mother. This cycle sounds like the break you deserve. Hoping for more great news on Wednesday!!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, aww. It’s totes all about me and not because you are so sleep deprived you’re losing your marbles a bit πŸ˜‰ I read your last post and I felt so bad for you. Obviously I can offer no words of wisdom. If it helps, I was a horror. A HORROR at sleeping, and now I can sleep anywhere x

      I hope this is the end. I’m tired of all of this after 4 years, all the operations, all the fertility treatment. It’s getting boring.

      Reply
  5. Isabelle

    It IS the fert report that I’ve been waiting for! That’s fantastic news! I know the wait will be a bit difficult. I have done it before and it was torturous. But you’ll get past it! Hoping for some nice blastocysts to transfer and to freeze!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks Isabelle! The waiting is scary isn’t it. Mind you, I’m glad to get the chance to wait rather than have to transfer one lone embie early like usual, or have nothing. I can’t really believe I might have a blastocyst transferred… It seems like a dream!

      Reply
  6. Smile

    Holy shitballs! This makes me so happy to hear this! Continuing to send threats to your reproductive organs (uterus you are up next) as well as positive growth juju for those guys to grow to day 5!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Holy shitballs indeed!!! I can’t believe it really. This is better than the last 3 cycles combined so far. I just hope I can eke out my luck a little bit longer!!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! I’m getting my hopes up now… I really hope it’s not in vain. I just really hope there is something good to transfer on Wednesday. I swear this gets more stressful and scary every cycle!

      Reply
      1. aNeonPrincess

        “cautiously optimistic” is what my RE would always say. But to be honest, your cycle story sounds a lot like our successful cycle πŸ™‚ so I’ll be full on optimistic for you!

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yo girl. If I have a blastocyst (PLEASE GOD PLEASE GOD PLEASE) then they will only transfer one. They are so strict here with rules and regulations for multiple births. I’d argue like a mo fo for two if they let me, but they won’t. I’m so nervous today I could cry!!!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Hello! And thank you πŸ™‚ I was over the moon yesterday, but today I am descending into a state of panic and worry. I’m not getting any work done at all today!

      Reply
  7. eli

    Whaaat??! This is amazing! I know it’s hard not to sit and wait for the other shoe to drop given what you’ve been through, but this is just amazing news! Grow, embies grow!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I think that’s exactly how I feel, but I’m trying to focus on the fact that they all fertilised… must be a good sign?! I’m so nervous today though. My work rate is absolutely appalling!!

      Reply
  8. The infernal infertile

    *faints with excitement*

    All I can say is “Fuck Yeah!”… About bloody time you got your share of the good news. I’m beyond excited for you BB… Still got everything crossed for you, now go you Blasts of wonder!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha. I nearly fainted from shock. I’ve suddenly been hit by a major attack of the worries. Trying not to think about it but I’m getting so nervous about tomorrow now :/

      Reply
      1. The infernal infertile

        I know exactly what you mean. Every time something goes right for us we get suspicious… Waiting for the other shoe to drop or a camera crew to burst out of a cupboard going “Ha ha… Fooled you… You’re on the worst version of candid camera ever!”

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        Yep, that’s it alright. I really wished they called with an update today… I’ve been procrastinating like a mo fo and it’s still only the middle of the afternoon.

      3. The infernal infertile

        Ok. Don’t worry… The Infernal Infertile is here to help! Things you can do to distract yourself:

        1. Put bubble wrap on your feet and walk around listening to the delicious popping sound
        2. Put four pieces of bubble gum in your mouth and see if you can blow a bubble the size of your head
        3. Make a phone call to Burger King and ask to talk to “the King”. Refuse to hang up until they at least let you talk to one member of the Burger Royal Family
        4. Wrap everything you can see in front of you in tin foil
        5. Get a toilet roll and count the number of sheets on the roll.
        6. Go to the nearest coffee shop and order a half-caf decaf latte, double shot, extra hot with a twist of lemon. Sigh dramatically every time they ask you to repeat your order.
        7. Put all your clothes on inside out and see how long it takes someone to tell you.
        8. Make a boat out of tissue paper and see how long it takes to sink in the bath. If the stupid thing actually floats… Reenact “the deadliest storm” in your bathroom.
        9. Eat one of everything in your cupboard.
        10. Call everybody in your phone’s contact list and ask if you left your “little friend” at their house last time you were there. Refuse to confirm what your “little friend” actually is…

        Just let me know if you need anything else… Personally, I never get past number one!

      4. barrenbetty Post author

        Ahahaha, this made me laugh! All excellent suggestions. I powered through with some more work but I’ve given up now and cooking dinner instead. I’m not sure I’ll be able to sleep tonight. Might have to go through your list then to keep me occupied πŸ˜‰

        I actually feel nervous like I’m about to have a job interview ALL THE TIME. It’s such a waste of energy. I’m exhausted!!!

  9. pregnant in my forties

    Fab news, Betty (sorry I haven’t had chance to get on here before) here’s hoping for some up your foof and some in the freezer! My transfer went amazing and we got a video of the embies which was beyond magical and I SWEAR one of them, just before he/she splits into 2 cells, has a smiley face!!! Will be thinking of you tomorrow xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I couldn’t believe I was writing it! The nerves are kicking in big time now. I so hope there is something to transfer tomorrow… I’m scared my luck will run out!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

