That’s beta

Sorry.

Okay, panic over. Some days I really need to remember I’m not a trained doctor and I don’t know everything (only almost everything).

After my minor meltdown yesterday about the hCG boosters, I called up my clinic today for clarification. They are so lovely and kind, even when dealing with neurotic loony bins like me, so I’m glad I called. I would totally go and work there if I was a trained doctor.

They said that the boosters I’m having would equate to around 50-200hCG in my system if they did a blood test straight after I did the jab. Apparently it varies person to person how much enters your blood stream or something. They know I will have a higher amount in my body on Monday since my last injection will be on Saturday night (I’m moving it to Saturday morning, can’t do any harm) and that will be taken into account.

I suppose it’s not ideal – I won’t have a crystal clear picture of how much hCG my body is making (if it’s making any at all). However, if I am pregnant, I will be 5w3d/5w5d so it really should be making quite a lot by then on it’s own compared to the 50-100 that will be left over from my booster.

Make sense? It makes enough sense to me that I’m willing to go with them and do the jabs.

I also have another 6 courgettes* to eat this week from my allotment. They keep growing even though the plants are withered, yellow crusts, buried under mountains of weeds. Two questions:

Any favourite courgette* recipes to throw my way?

Can anybody speed up time for me so that it’s next Wednesday?

Thanks pals,

BB xx

*zucchini if you don’t speak English.

33 thoughts on “That’s beta

  1. kiftsgate

    yey!! so glad you called lovely! It’s really good to have an explanation and it makes a lot more sense now that you have to do a jab a few days before the beta.
    I want to steal your courgettes!!
    Recipes:
    – fried courgettes (like courgette crisps) to eat with tsatsiki
    – parmigiana of courgettes (Seriously YUM!)
    – Pasta with shrimps and courgettes (may not be ideal for you as you may be pregnant)
    – quiche with courgettes
    – white pizza with courgettes and cherry tomatoes
    – stuffed courgettes (filling can be ricotta, meat or tuna)
    – something I dont know how to translate but you should understand from the picture in this website: http://www.ricettedellanonna.net/involtini-di-zucchine/
    Please if you find a way to have next week arrive quicker, share it with me!!
    Hugs from your Italian cheerleaders team!
    xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Ok, now you’ve made me HUNGRY! Yum. They all sound amazing! Two of them have become marrows and are huge so I might try and stuff them… I feel like it’s going to end up a bit messy! I made some courgette and cheese scones last weekend and they were pretty good, and courgette and mushroom bread. I’m going to look like a courgette soon. Those little antipasti roll things look AMAZING! Okay, I’m definitely hungry now.

      Yep, I’m glad I spoke to them. It makes sense now. It’s not ideal but for whatever reason they seem to want me on the boosters for 3 weeks. At least AF won’t arrive early like last time… Monday will be a big day for us both!

      Reply
  2. journeyformybaby

    I don’t know what courgettes are. Either we don’t eat them here or they are called something else but whatever they are, I hope they aren’t big since you have to eat 6!

    That makes sense on the hcg shots now that it’s all explained and the amount in your system is so very minimal. I still don’t understand why you have to wait so long for official beta but I will get to work on my time machine so that the wait will be be less for you. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Zucchinis are the same thing if that helps?!

      Yep, it all makes sense now. I am 1000% certain the reason it’s so late is because they are too busy to fit me in. Oh well, I’m 2/3rds of the way through at least!

      Reply
  3. ecutri

    That makes more sense but I’m still not quite sure what the boosters do? I hope there’s something you can find that keeps you busy until next week! <33

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Me neither really! It’s just because my last two bfn cycles my luteal phase was really short (9 days post egg collection) so they are trying to help extend it. I need to keep busy… This wait is a killer!!!
      ❀

      Reply
      1. ecutri

        now THAT makes sense…I can’t even imagine that wait! How about another ‘inanimate objects shaped like a penis’ hunt? πŸ˜‰

      2. ecutri

        πŸ™‚ I found a few things in my absence about penis shaped things in my absence that made me think of you – I need to look them up to share with you!

  4. Isabelle

    Okay I guess the explanation is clear enough. What does the HCG booster do??? I had never heard of it until Lindsey over at Awaiting Autumn and now you do it. It’s just a little (or a lot) cruel to make someone wait for so long for the beta result. I don’t blame you for being impatient about it. I don’t know how to speed things up… I am just boring like that. Oh well. AND I had to look up what the heck a courgette is. It’s zucchini! I have some in the fridge right now. I usually cut it up and roast it in the oven with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. That’s it. Nothing fancy.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Sorry, I forgot I wrote that in code for Americans. Zucchinis sound SO much cooler too. I like them roasted as well. 2 of mine have become marrows so no exaggeration, they are bigger than my arms.

      The hCG was just to try and extend my luteal phase after my period started so early during my last two cycles (9 days after egg collection both times). That’s it, I don’t think it really does anything else. I’m glad I called them though… definitely put my mind at rest a bit!

      Reply
  5. journeyformybaby

    I googled it. We call them zucchini. I love them! I like them fried with butter and kielbasa. I also like them diced and add an egg, corn meal, salt, pepper, a little flour, onion. Toss them around until coated and dump into a frying pan with a little oil. Cook until golden and tender. Yum!!! πŸ™‚ Or you can slice them super thin and make them into a vegetarian lasagna using the zucchini errr courgettes as noodles. Supper yums!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh my God, all of those ideas sound AMAZING! It’s making me hungry!! They are definitely on my list. I’m going to start calling them zucchinis too because that sounds so much more fun than courgettes.

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Ooh, good call! I’ve not had moussaka in forever! I don’t like lamb much either but for some reason I quite like it in moussaka. That recipe looks sooo good. My stomach is actually rumbling reading all these ideas. I wish someone would come and make it for me πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  6. redbluebird

    I grow zucchini, so I get a TON every year. Even if I only plant one plant. The bigger ones I often stuff (or throw in the compost, if they are way too big). My favorite is nan pizza w/a mix of olive oil & spices, with mozz/parm/asiago/etc and zucchini, tomatoes, and sauteed mushrooms. I also put it in quiche, omelets, pasta, etc. And then I shred and freeze a bunch.
    That is a REALLY long 2ww. It takes you close to the time you can see something on an ultrasound though, which is good!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks for the tips! I’m definitely going to grate some too and freeze it to use in baking. We had about 5 huge plants so we’ve had MILLIONS. Oops.

      It’s kind of good I’d be so far down the line I’d be able to see something on a scan, but I imagine I’ll just be bumped further down the queue so I wouldn’t get a viability scan for another 2-3 weeks anyway!

      Reply
  7. myhopejar

    That makes a lot of sense. I’m glad you called for clarification! I’m thinking by 5w3d, you should be well over 200 so hopefully it will be and it will be very clear you are pregnant!

    My mom used to make a really delicious chocolate zucchini cake, I’ll have to ask her for the recipe for you, or you can go on pinterest and I’m sure there are tons of recipes there πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I am too! I feel a lot calmer now… Although that’s not saying much, haha. It looks like at 5+ weeks it should be in the 1000s so I’m hopeful I’ll have a reasonably clear idea on Monday either way!

      A couple of people mentioned using it to make cakes so I’ll definitely look up a chocolate one. Will keep me occupied this week too πŸ™‚ I used it to make scones and bread and that worked really well. Good ol’ zucchinis.

      Reply
  8. pregnant in my forties - hopefully

    Sorry Betty, my time-speeder machine is out of order at the moment. Perhaps if you set yourself a task that you will absolutely HATE for 10 minutes before next Wednesday, the time will start speeding up? Like, erm, I don’t know, eating a live frog or something (JOKE!!! I would never recommend eating any sort of animal live)
    My usual method with courgettes/zucchinis is to leave them in the fridge too long and then complain when they drip rotten courgette juice on the floor on their way to the bin. BUT, I did see a recipe the other day for slicing them thinly crossways, sprinkling parmesan on and baking. They looked yum!
    Crossing absolutely everything for you (even my eyelashed – beat that!) for next week. REALLY hope it’s good news for you xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      There is a family of frogs at our allotment so I could try that. I like the Parmesan roasting idea… need to get some energy from somewhere and cook the bloody things or they will be headed for the compost heap.

      Thanks for the good luck. I hope you’re doing okay. I know how heartbreaking and miserable BFNs are. We’ve spent tens of thousands on IVF and nothing to show for it and that side of things stings like a bitch as well. Thinking of you x

      Reply
  9. mumofone

    I love zucchini πŸ™‚
    I’m glad you’ve got an HCG/Beta plan in place….not sure if it will make time go faster but at least its a plan πŸ™‚
    Hey – did your cramps go away? Or are you still having them?
    Finally I feel its time for an only slightly irrelevant Star Wars quote:

    C-3PO: Is there anything I can do?
    Luke Skywalker: Not unless you can alter time, speed up the harvest or teleport me off this rock.

    I wish there was a way to speed up time for you! Maybe you can do an internet search for all quotes related to speeding up time….I’m sure there’s more than my feeble offering above πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, I like the quotes! My cramps haven’t gone away but they never got as bad as my bfn cycles. Could just be the extra hCG I guess. Find out soon enough!!

      Reply
  10. EmilyMaine

    I haven’t read all the other comments but I have just found a new love for zoodles – zucchini noodles. I use them in place of pasta when I’m trying to be really healthy and it is essentially one zucc per serve. You lay a box grater down sideways and great them lengthways. Voila!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

