Beta the devil you know

Sorry.

Ok, I admit it.

My name is Betty and I am a poas addict.

To be fair, it’s a pretty cheap hit when you can buy 20 for Β£2.

Telling me that Instead of waiting 9 days, I have to wait three weeks and I can’t test early… Snort. What did they think would happen? That pigs would fly? That I wouldn’t test early?

Of course not, merely testing early would be as useless as trying to fly a pig on hCG boosters. What kind of amateur do they think I am. This required a more sophisticated experiment.

Okay, okay poas police please move on through. There you go, out the back. Keep going, keep going. Bit further. Don’t look at me like that, eyes ahead and keep moving.

*shuts door*

Where was I? Oh yes. My name is Betty and I am a poas addict. I have done the dirty deed everyday and sellotaped it onto a chart. Like you wouldn’t have done the same.

At the start my findings didn’t tell me much at all, then I started to get some readings that piqued my interest. I kept my cool and wished time away every day until I could get my fix and sweet poas in the morning. I have collated a good set of data now and after expert poas analysis, I have an inkling that Monday isn’t going to be a negative.

I’ve been so incredibly lucky this cycle already, I can’t believe my luck is still holding out. I hope I’m not in for a massive face splat fall on my face anytime soon.

BB xx

P.s. I’ve consulted google and my beta needs to be in the region of 8,000 on Monday and definitely more than 5,000. Yikes.

P.p.s I think the chances of me being given my beta results on Monday are slim to none. Just FYI.

57 thoughts on “Beta the devil you know

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I couldn’t stop myself. Seemed really pointless at first, but now it’s looking hopeful it’s calmed me down a little bit waiting for the beta! I hope I’m not wrong now!!!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Lol. I love the encouragement!! I could see the hcg in my early tests with the boosters, but they were really, really faint. Now all the lines are getting darker regardless of whether I’ve done a booster or not and they are as dark as the control line today. Eek! I’m SO tempted to do a digital, but I think I’ll be right on the cusp of it going from 2-3 to 3+ and I can’t decide if it’ll just make me worry more?! Time is dragging so bad. I daren’t get my hopes up after last time x

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I’m so tempted! I’m still doing boosters every 3.5 days so I did one on Wednesday and one today. I’m too scared though, lol. Not too long til beta o’clock now. Eek!

      Reply
  1. myhopejar

    There’s no way I could have waited either! Yay! I’m so excited for you! Hope you get the results back on Monday after all and it’s over 5000! Please let this be it!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I really hope so! They don’t give out blood test results over the phone and I live MILES away so I’m not feeling hopeful I’ll find out on Monday. I hope they surprise me… I am so done with all the waiting x

      Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        Me too, haha. I know it’s silly but I’ve been upset sometimes in the past looking at endless pee sticks, bump pictures, scan pics etc on my newsfeed… I don’t want to accidentally make anyone else feel sad so I’m not going to post any pictures. I’m so nervous for the bloody beta test now… really wish I had a time machine and could fast forward to about Christmas!! xx

  2. Isabelle

    Oh Betty Betty Betty! Yes I am so happy with this post! NO ONE on earth is going to judge you for POAS especially when they cruelly make you wait for three freaking weeks! I’m a bit disappointed that you didn’t share your data. So are you going to march into the clinic on Monday demanding a beta test????

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I hope I’m not deluding myself!!! My betas are booked for the morning of Monday and Wednesday. My clinic won’t give test results out over the phone (helpful) which is why I have a horrible feeling I will be non the wiser on Monday. I hope they prove me wrong. I’m getting so nervous now x

      Reply
  3. kiftsgate

    I wouldn’t have done it but just because I didn’t know of the existence of the 2 pound HPT stock and because I’m not that smart.. I already said this but I think this was a genius idea! Betty, you may as well be a POAS addict but you are also a POAS genius. Hoping so much that Monday (or Wednesday) confirms it! xx

    Reply
  4. A Calm Persistence

    Okay.. I’m so hopeful for you I cannot seem to type this response fast enough! Don’t use a weeks estimator! Don’t do it. I used them and it is so inaccurate and causes so much anxiety. One time it only said 1-2 weeks and my beta was over 1,000 (I freaked out because it was supposed to say 2-3), another time I went backwards!! Yes, backwards! Which also freaked me out. Only to find out that it was wrong and my numbers DID double. I then Googled and Googled and apparently this is a problem and causes a lot of anxiety for many, many women. You see there is not a direct limit posted by Clearblue Easy, so each batch of tests could have a different range for each week! Also, it only tests your urine and that’s inaccurate. I found a story of a girl that used one (it said 2-3 weeks) and her beta was over 10,000 within an hour of using the test!! I will not be using these. Also, when I took 2 digital tests (all Clearblue Easy) it showed positive and the next day my beta was only 19! I say stay away from the digital and go by the darkness of the line. The digitals caused me SO much anxiety when my betas were doubling (not to mention I probably spent a small fortune on them).. Although, I’d totally understand if you didn’t listen to me. πŸ™‚ Good luck to you! I’m so glad you’ve updated! I’ve been thinking about you nonstop! I want this so bad for you!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I wholeheartedly agree with you about those bloody digitals!!! Plus the bastards are SO expensive!! I’d rather buy a new top, haha. I’ve heard other stories about them going up and down etc… plus I did them last time I was pregnant, they went up perfectly on time and what did it mean? Jack shit. My viability scan at 7.5w was normal and still had a strong heartbeat at 8.5w and I still didn’t get a baby. Should have saved my money on the stupid clearblues!!! xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Aww, thanks my friend! I hope I’m not deluding myself. Quite glad I did my experiment now, but it makes me want Monday to come round more quickly!! xx

      Reply
  5. InfertileGirl

    Ah, Betty, that’s so exciting, you clever little thing! I am (to steal a British phrase) absolutely chuffed for you! Can’t wait for the beta’s πŸ™‚ All the best xo

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! I did feel strangely proud of my poas chart, haha. I’m just hoping for a better outcome for this pregnancy… I reeeally don’t want a repeat of last time just in time for Christmas :/ x

      Reply
  6. lisaliteration

    Yeeeeeahhhhhhh! God, the extra waiting must be torture, but I’m glad you found a way to beat the system, and I hope hope hope HOPE your data is correct!! I’m sending you super duper ultra HCG-well-into-the-thousands vibes for Monday.

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Eek, thanks! I am so nervous now. I keep feeling sick and thinking, ooh, morning sickness! But I’m 99% certain it’s just the constant worry getting to me! xx

      Reply
  7. Bec

    Absolutely delighted that things are going your way. I am a hopeless POAS addict….my theory is I would rather know and have prepared myself than be told cold turkey on the phone! Wishing you every success and waiting with much antication for your update. Bec

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Absolutely. I don’t know how everyone isn’t a poas addict after all the uncertainty of fertility treatments… It’s one bit of control! I’d definitely rather know and I’m glad I tested early on my BFN as well as BFP cycles. Why prolong the torture x

      Reply
  8. wheresourpup

    Not overly sure what you’ve done as I’m pregnancy test phobic, but sounds clever and hopefully accurate. Sending out so many positive vibes for you…it’s your turn now girl!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha. I can’t help myself!! I tested everyday from my transfer so I could see what the hCG boosters looked like. They were very faint at first, but by the end I couldn’t see when I’d done them because all the tests were dark. Makes me think I must be producing my own hCG because the boosters wouldn’t build up in my system. No way could I wait 3 weeks to find out.. I’m stressed enough about tomorrow!! xx

      Reply
  9. journeyformybaby

    There is no judgement here!! I couldn’t believe you weren’t testing because I totally would have to be checking those lines out. πŸ˜‰ I really REALLY think you are definitely pregnant and there is no way your clinic can make you wait one more day. They are being totally unreasonable and pushing my brain past it’s capacity for patience and I can only imagine how you must be feeling!!!!

    Reply
  10. Arwen

    OMG OMG OMG!! I have been offline pretty much entirely all weekend and TOTALLY missed this!!!! EEEEEK!! Hoping your clinic isn’t a dick and tells you your beta today!

    Reply
  11. ecutri

    I applaud your courage to tackle such a feat! A poas chart, I am just envisioning it in my head right now and it is fantastic. I am admittedly not a poas addict, in fact they scare the bajesus out of me. Seriously. The only time I’ve ever taken one was when I had to to make sure the trigger shot worked…

    I can’t wait to read your update!

    Reply
  12. Smile

    I know that I am way behind, but I want to see your crazy expert POAS analysis! I still have all of my 20 tests from early on, not sure what I will do with them but I can’t bring myself to throw them away. And congrats again on the beta – so fucking thrilled for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

