Beta believe it

Sorry. I really can’t stop.

I had my blood test this morning after about 20 minutes sleep. Can someone remind me on Tuesday that staying awake all night fretting doesn’t help and just means I have a headache all day?

I am 25 days post egg collection today and after some google research I worked out my beta needed to be 5,680-13,660, with the average being 8,770. My beta was 8,370. Way to go, average!

It took some wheedling and rule bending to get the number on the phone, but you don’t rack up 4 rounds of IVF without learning how to get your own way when you need to.

All the nurse I spoke to would say was that it was “encouraging”, but high from the hCG booster I did on Saturday and that they need to compare it with Wednesday’s test. This flies completely in the face of the other nurse I spoke to last week who told me I’d only have 50-200 in my system from the injection.

So according to the clinic, I am still in limbo (albeit “encouraging” limbo). According to me and google, I am 5w3d pregnant.

BB xx

P.s. Beta on Wednesday needs to be about 13,000. Come on little bb, COME ON!

91 thoughts on “Beta believe it

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      ❀ I've stressed so much today I've given myself the worst headache ever so I'm having to go and lie down. Hopefully I'll be slightly less mental for Wednesdays test…

      Reply
  1. airwolfgirl

    I LOVE reading your posts and find myself scouting for the next one. My excitement for you getting higher and higher every day. Come on little bb you can do it!!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Aww, thank you πŸ™‚ I’m getting a bit excited now, but it’s a weird limbo with the hCG boosters. I wanted the nurse to be a bit more optimistic today! I think Tuesday is going to draaaag x

      Reply
  2. rebeccarich

    Um, that number is AMAZING for 5w3d. And I think the nurse you talked to was full of shit; I’m in agreement with the other nurse, that your number from the booster would be 150-200. Think of the faint lines you got from the booster before baby hcg kicked in; that number isn’t going to be in the 1000’s. So, CELEBRATE!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      LOVE THIS COMMENT!

      My clinic don’t do betas and the more junior nurses just don’t seem to understand them at all. I was desperate for it to be over 5,000 today so over 8,000 seems good! I could hardly believe my ears when she told me… Think I asked her to repeat herself about 10 times, haha x

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yay! I think I’m excited but I feel in a weird limbo after the nurse was so cautious. At least it’s not too long until Wednesday. I just hope this one sticks around. We really need to invent a time machine that can see into the future a few weeks x

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, thanks! I’d like to think I’ll relax if Wednesdays beta is good, but knowing me, I’ll just convert my worry to the next hurdle. I need to stop looking too far ahead! x

      Reply
  3. hopingonhope

    I told ya!! There is a bun cooking in the oven. Little bunny stay put, mama has worked very hard for you. Sending lots of pregnancy symptoms your way!! All the good ones only, promise. πŸ™‚

    Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        I need to remember that… I’m terrible for looking too far ahead and panicking. It’s hard when you know how wrong things can go. I need to just be happy and focus on each day x

  4. kiftsgate

    Yuppy!!!!!!! Com on little BB, come on!!!!
    PS: Curious to see how long you can go on with the “Beta..” titles. πŸ˜‰
    Or rather, what are you going to do when you stop with the betas!?!?

    Reply
  5. Smile

    FUCK YES! This makes me so freaking happy I could cry, or pee, or maybe both, probably both. I think that nurse you spoke too just can’t do math, what the other nurse said about the range from the shot makes a ton more sense. Come on little BB, I am rooting for you!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I’m trying to just focus on each little step and not get too far ahead of myself and start worrying. Tomorrow’s beta seems like forever away. I hope they are quick to book me in for a scan or I’ll be going crazy x

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I think it’s all mainly just luck…. my first cycle worked as well (but I had a mmc at 10 weeks) and I did absolutely nothing then. I had acupuncture this time which I’ve never had before and I’ve been taking an awful lot of supplements. I started taking vitamin D3 after my last cycle failed as well which I’d not done before. My acupuncturist is convinced it’s the acupuncture that made this cycle work but I think science has a lot to do with it as well πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  6. mumofone

    I woke up this morning and the first thing I did was reach for the internet to see if you had a result.
    Yay! I’m so happy for you. Hoping Wednesday brings you the results you need…..still feeling nervous on your behalf!!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks! I’m so tired I’m kinda nervous but mainly just feeling too lazy and tired. I have a horrible feeling acupuncture clashes with when I can call and get my results tomorrow so you might be in for a longer wait, argh!

      Reply
  7. lisaliteration

    I do believe it! Probably the nurse was playing it safe rather than risk getting your hopes up since the HCG booster situation makes things a bit blurrier than usual. Go little one go! Double that shit!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yeah I agree. She also couldn’t answer any of my questions about betas and hCG so I don’t think she really understands it all. Oh well, roll on Wednesday!

      Reply
  8. julieann081

    Congratulations! I’m sorry you’re in beta limbo, but it sounds like things are going really well! ❀

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks πŸ™‚ I’m so blooming nervous after all this time but I’ll take this over another BFN any day of the week!!! I hope you and little S are doing well xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Neither of the clinics Ive been to do beta tests, just poas, so I was pretty excited to get special treatment and get a beta at all. I must be beta than everyone else. LOLZ.

      Reply
      1. Jenn

        I would have to make another new name. Ex found my blog and his ex found my Twitter :/ Creepy stalkerers!

Leave a Reply

