Catching up

Why hello fair maidens and men folk.

I think I have made a boo boo with my Christmas cake this year. I’ve just spent an hour or so poking it with sticks and my fingers but I’m still not sure if it’s cooked through properly. Thing is, last year I didn’t cover it and it burnt on the top and required repair. I feared a repeat. The little bugger was in the oven for 3 hours 45 minutes. How can it not be cooked in 3 hours 45 minutes? It is a well known fact that I can’t bake for shit so I’m not accepting any responsibility for this failure. I’m just going to cover it in marzipan and pray.

Other minor disasters this week:

– A shelf fell off the wall in my kitchen and a) almost gave me a heart attack and b) caused all kinds of mess on the floor. I’ve now trampled a fine layer of chilli powder, oregano and oats throughout the whole house so that it’s not just concentrated in one place.

– I left washing in the washing machine for 3 days and it has dried into a hard, stale ball of sheets and old knickers. I keep wandering down to the machine and looking at it sadly but no further progress has been made.

– My Utrogestan has mutated and is breeding in my draw. I’ve had a week of it left for at least 3 weeks and I still have a week of it left. I am tempted not to use the rest/bin it before it mutates into something far worse. It’s probably the Yorkshire in me, but I can’t help but think I paid for those revolting pessaries, I’m going to bloody well use them all.

Ok, so I don’t really have any problems do I? I’ve been meaning to blog, but really a post about me nervously nibbling my finger nails didn’t seem very exciting. I decided to book a private scan for 9+4, which was yesterday. During all the scans I’ve ever had before the sonographer started with the screen turned away from me and I was left analysing every face twinge and exasperated sigh (once a nurse even screwed up her face, shrugged and said, “I don’t know what this means” when I was 8 weeks pregnant. Seriously, gimme the screen I’ll tell you what it means, idiot). For this scan the screen was right smack bang in front of my face, cue nervousness. No face analytics required this time. Really wish I’d remembered my bloody glasses.

It was a proper tummy scan. My last tummy scan was a very, very sad day, but thanks to the big screen in front of my face I could see as soon as it began that this scan was going to be a much happier affair. My little bb embryo was measuring a day ahead at 9w5d. I’ve booked a private NT scan for the beginning of December (I should really have this on the NHS, but err, the midwife was full so… who knows when/if that will happen).

I only have 12 days to wait until my next scan. The big scan, the NT scan. The scan that means you start telling people. Am I really only 12 days away from opening my mouth and saying the words I never thought I’d say?

BB xx

53 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. airwolfgirl

    BB you crack me up with your blogs. I think you should glue your glasses to your face so you’ll be able to see the little shrimp in all its glory next time 🙂
    Even though you still can’t bake I’m sure you’ll either be on the Great British Bake Off or in the paper as the woman who poisoned her entire family at Christmas 😉
    Keep blogging missy! x

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I only do baking which requires me *at most* to pour and mix. I had to CREAM butter and sugar for the bloody cake, and all for what! NOTHING! I made one last year too and had a marzipan accident that I tried to salvage by moulding little people out of marzipan and sitting them on the top. It looked like a child’s playdoe accident.

      I cannot believe I forgot my glasses AGAIN. I was so cross with myself when I realised on the way over!! They gave me a DVD though so I’ve watched it again without blurry, slightly double vision 🙂

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I hear ya. I definitely need a cleaner too. I’m currently just sat in the middle of a pile of clothes that need folding and putting away and I physically just cannot do it.

      Reply
  2. A Calm Persistence

    I hate not being able to see my scans! They did this to me when I was at my OB’s office and they don’t say anything while it’s happening. That’s so frustrating. They are always in hanging above me at my RE’s office, which I love because I’ve become an expert in reading them. A tummy scan?! That’s even better! 🙂 Good luck in 12 days. You know what? I totally think you should enjoy this. I know it’ll be hard to tell people, but I truly believe this is the end of your heartbreak. I thought I’d share this post with you from another blog I found on Pinterest. There is a little too many similes and metaphors, but you’ll get the point, it’s still beautiful. http://www.stillbornandstillbreathing.com/2014/03/dear-sweet-mama-your-courage-roars.html My favorite line was: “Fear will not win. Not now, not ever.”

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh gosh, I’m pretty emotional at the moment and that tipped me right over the edge! It really is beautiful, thank you for sharing it.

      I don’t like them not showing us the scans. I think I’d like the option… I’d rather see what’s going on from the start, even if it is bad news. It’s so horrible just watching their faces and wondering. My uterus is really hard to see because of where it is stuck and the scans can take a while… Those minutes waiting are horrid x

      Reply
  3. immotileturtle

    You’re having a baby BB, get used to it. That lethargy still hasn’t left me. G vomited all over me 2 weeks ago & my sick covered clothes are still soaking in a bucket of disinfectant water 🙊 xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha… that’s my girl 🙊 I am blaming all the migraines I’m getting for my sudden turn of the stupids and lazies but I have a feeling I’ve been like it my whole life!!!!

      Reply
  4. kiftsgate

    So glad the scan went well!! Sorry can’t help at all with the Christmas cake. I suck at baking too and I don’t even know what a Christmas cake is suppose to look like.. I’m amazed that the stuff in your machine dried. I think it wouldn’t have in mine, it would have just smelled and possibly i would have found some mushrooms with the clothes..
    Looking forward to another update in 12 days then! Not too long to wait..
    xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Yes, it was quite the relief! I wish I was better at baking. I don’t know why I am so bad because it’s just following instructions isn’t it?! I think I’m too impatient!

      Reply
  5. hopefulandhungry

    Try not to fret too much about your upcoming NT scan. I know the anticipation can be nerve-wracking (racking?). Hope you enjoy your holidays, it’ll be an especially magical holiday season for you this year. xoxo

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I definitely feel less stressed than I did waiting for the last two scans. I’ll probably feel more nervous when it gets closer to the day! This will be my 5th Christmas since we started TTC and the last two in particular made me so, so sad. This year might still be childless, but I should be 15 weeks pregnant then – feels like a miracle x

      Reply
  6. Isabelle

    You are just too funny. 🙂 I’d love to hear more minor non-pregnancy related problems from you, which means that the pregnancy is going well. I remember your post last year for the previous scan. I am happy that this year the outcome of these scans are totally different! This is so exciting!! Baby bb is doing really well. This is going to be one happy Christmas for you. 🙂

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Haha, yes… as long as I am blogging about slipping on banana skins and cake fails you know everything is okay! It’s been strange going through these last few weeks and remembering last time. I’m so thankful this looks okay so far xxx

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks Steph! I’m okay thanks… feeling pregnant which is making me happy 🙂 I’m getting a lot of migraines and nasty headaches which I’ve had acu for today. She stuck pins in my ribs so… Umm, hopefully that’ll help!

      Reply
  7. waitingforthree

    Marzipan makes all things better! Glad things are going well. I’ve been glaring at my kitchen sink hoping it will unclog itself, but I also report no progress. Let us know if your wash eventually acquiesces 😉

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Why can’t things just clean themselves? My bath is draining slowly and that isn’t fixing itself either. I rewashed the stale ball of laundry today and it is hanging up now. Sigh. I have to do everything round here x

      Reply
  8. journeyformybaby

    DH gets quite upset at my ability to wash laundry and never ever dry it. It smells so extra nice that way. 😉

    I’m glad you posted because I’ve been so nosily wondering how you and baby are. Glad to hear you are both doing well. 🙂

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      My husband complains about that too, lol. Get me a tumble drier then, that’s what I say. Stupid airers are useless… It’s definitely not because I left it in the washing machine all day before hanging it up.

      And thanks 🙂 it actually feels a bit weird to be happy for once. Makes me realise how sad I’d been recently. Hopefully it will continue for much longer! xx

      Reply
      1. barrenbetty Post author

        Oh I wish! There is no room in our house for a tumble dryer. My main priority is campaigning that we can squeeze in a dishwasher… We had one in our last two houses but not in here and I miss it sooooo much!!!

  9. Smile

    YES!! Was thinking about you this week and wondering how the 9 week scan went, knowing that it was so awful the last time. Makes me hopeful that this Christmas will be so much better for both of us than the disaster last year! Can’t wait to hear about the NT scan, keep growing baby BB!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh yes, last year was the Shittest Christmas Ever. I spent the entire duration drunk and crying. I’m definitely feeling a bit more relaxed now after seeing the scan this week… It will be a big relief to get past the NT scan x

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I’m glad I’ve booked the private NT scan now. He explained to me when they needed to do it and why they say 11-13+6 so I feel better about going on the early side too. A week on Monday really doesn’t seem very far away!! Eek!

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I can’t really imagine a happy Christmas after the last 4 Christmases were so depressing! The last 2 in particular I just hated. I think I was drunk for about 2 weeks solid last time :/ I’m crossing my fingers for a sober Christmas this year!

      Reply
  10. The infernal infertile

    The NT scan is so awesome… It’s lovely and long so you’ll get to look at mini BB for ages. Don’t forget your glasses this time!

    I’m glad you don’t have to wait too long… I’m going out of my mind! Last scan was at 12w and my next one won’t be until 20 weeks… That falls almost right on Xmas so I’m hoping it won’t get pushed through to the New Year! We do have our 16w appt on Monday where we should (please God) be able to hear the heartbeat.

    I’m so pleased things are progressing so nicely for you… Especially after your earlier scare xxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh 12 to 20 weeks is a long time to wait. I think I’ll have the NHS scan at about 14ish weeks if they manage to squeeze me in which will be a little bonus! I’m tempted to go for a private scan at about 17 to find out the sex too. Err, presuming everything is okay at my next scan that is. I definitely need to remember my glasses. I might need to get twitter to remind me the day before!

      It feels very surreal after so many years and cycles, and especially after all the bleeding before. I’d completely given up hope this time and was just going through the motions. I’m waiting for it all to sink in! I hope your appointment on Monday goes well xx

      Reply
  11. myhopejar

    You crack me up hon. I am so thrilled that all is continuing to go well with you and baby. Sending you lots of prayers for your NT scan!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! I can hardly believe it. I hope it feels more real if my NT scan looks okay. You must be getting pretty close to meeting your little one now… I hope all the preparations are going well 🙂 x

      Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I am! It doesn’t seem very real after all this time, a bit like it’s a dream happening to someone else! Hopefully the next scan will look good and I can relax a bit x

      Reply
  12. liesap

    BB, may I make a suggestion re the Xmas cake? Present it at the same time that you break the good news to your friends and/or family who may be present. That way, they will be so freakin’ excited about the baby news, that they won’t give a shit that your cake sucks! 😉 xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

