Cats are naturally ego friendly and so are cat hair crafts

I know a lot of us here (me excluded since my entire family and husband are all allergic to fur, sensitive souls) have fur babies. I also know from reading your blogs, as well more generally sensing it through the interwaves, that you are a crafty bunch. Well ladies you can thank me later, I found you this.

How did I live 31 years and 352 days (yes this is a hint for presents) and not know that crafting with cat hair was a thing?

Reading reviews on Amazon is one of my favourite past times. Here are some of my favourite reviews from Crafting with Cat Hair:

“I thought this was disappointing and wondered why there weren’t more “real” cat hair projects (like rings, bracelets and other small items)”

I don’t know girls, maybe the more serious cat lovers out there can shed some light on this, but cat fur jewellery? I remain unconvinced and slightly itchy at the thought.

Great book but my wife didn’t appreciate it as a birthday present and hasn’t made me anything.”

Oh Derek, this is sad. I bet Derek spent years surrounded by malting cats, fur piling up around his chair. He would pick up the fur balls and let them run through his fingers, shivering with cold from the draughty windows in his ineffectual, fraying aged cardigan. He would huddle round his small coal fire and shake his head at the waste of all that lovely cosy cat fur. Then finally, FINALLY he finds this book and buys it for his dear wife for her birthday. Shame on you Derek’s wife. Shame. On. You.

“‘Crafting with Cat Hair’ was originally written in Japanese. It is therefore the product of another culture, and this should be taken into account before laughing at it… In a Western context, then, this book might best be viewed as providing an insight into Japanese feminine crafting traditions rather than an introduction to a hobby that anyone would seriously consider taking up.”

Okay, I feel bad now. I am also judging Japanese feminine crafters which is making me feel even worse.

A happy story to end on:

“Now I fill my days creating wonderful finger puppets from genuine cat fur and I have the pleasure of sharing my hobby with the world. I show my creations to strangers on the bus (although I’m quite unlucky in that I always decide to show my puppets to people who are getting off at the next stop)”

Melts my heart. After my crafting with cat hair revelation, I went down the internet rabbit hole and ended up at taxidermy. Taxidermy is officially my new favourite thing. Gonna put this bad boy on my birthday list.

I don’t want to leave those of you with fur baby pooches out, so here you go.

According to the latest happy owner of Knitting with Dog Hair: Better a Sweater from a Dog You Know and Love Than from a Sheep You’ll Never Meet, “this is a fantastic book for all those people who prefer their own ‘home-grown’ products”. Now as you know, I have an allotment and am all about growing my own fruit and veg. I am not so sure about growing my own dog hair for clothes. What about you?

BB xx

15 thoughts on “Cats are naturally ego friendly and so are cat hair crafts

  1. kiftsgate

    woooow BB you have just opened the door to a whole new marvellous world! thank you!! I will ask my cat what she thinks about this and let you know. πŸ˜‰
    xx

    Reply
  2. Isabelle

    HA. First of all, happy birthday very very soon! And second of all, I would never in a million years have guessed that this would be the topic of your next post. Okay. Lady. Not that this is not interesting, but I would like an update on say… how the pregnancy is going??? Yeah?

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I thought it was so random I had to share it with someone.. and err, you were the lucky recipients! Sorry!! I keep meaning to post an update but there just isn’t anything very exciting to update on. I will give you a special mini update Isabelle because you are my favourite (shh, don’t tell). I am officially half way, I can hardly believe it?! I had my 20w anatomy scan yesterday and everything was so incredibly boring and average and normal that I have been discharged from the consultant and sent back to the midwife. Unless anything drastic happens (please no) I won’t be back at the hospital for another 20 weeks… Eek! I hope you are well, and hi to Bob πŸ˜‰ xxx

      Reply
  3. ecutri

    Love my cats, but not enough to craft with their sheddings…just as much as my husband doesn’t like my “hair spiders” [you know, the balled up knots of hair that pop out of the dryer and look like a spider…makes him jump every single time so I make them on my own and hide them under his pillow to freak him out LOL]

    Reply
      1. ecutri

        the best was I got him thinking he did it…I hid one in his pocket and under his pillow…he thought after he freaked out at the one under his pillow he put it in his pocket instead of throwing it away because I just denied, denied, denied since I don’t shed nearly as much as I used to! LOL It’s a fun game ❀
        Hope you are feeling lovely and nothing dramatic is going on in your life!

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      My thoughts exactly! I thought it was so weird I just had to share it with someone, and unfortunately that was you… sorry!! I almost wrote a blog post about an idea I had for an advert for constipation medication so you got off lightly really 😁

      Reply
  4. The infernal infertile

    It’s funny… I was thinking “this has to be one of those weird Japanese things” when you confirmed it. I’ve never been to Japan, but things like this make me want to go.

    I hope you have a wonderful birthday – and maybe even get to sit on the bus with the crazy finger puppet lady as a special treat.

    P.s. You should take up taxidermy.

    Reply
  5. Dreaming of Diapers

    Betty! Just thinking of you and how I miss your posts….I have cried more than I have laughed at the posts I follow/read now…and it’s a bit depressing…after reading this cat hair post though…it made me smile. I am so very glad that all is well with the little babe that you are growing…does he/she have any funny moments that they wish to share? πŸ˜‰ Hope all else is wonderful! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

