bb

Well guys this update has been a long time coming. I’ve had it in drafts forever* and it went along the lines of: everything is normal blah blah, something about planting two different types of potato, a story about a box of pencils and a special sharpener Mr B bought, etc etc. Baby bb was breech until the day before my 36 week appointment but she flipped in the nick of time. The most dramatic part of my pregnancy has been anaemia. It really has been one lovely long period of normal boring. Magic.
(*not forever)

So yes, that was the update I drafted on the eve of 36 weeks. Thanks to you all who have checked in on me and the lovely Single Motherhood By Choice who pointed me in the way of this for breech babies.

Well turns out everything wasn’t quite the normal I thought it was because I was reacquainted with my old enemy Red at 36+2. Red. The colour I used to love but love no more. I hadn’t seen that bitch since the first trimester, and she was back with a vengeance.

I won’t go into detail but after a short blind panic and trip to the hospital in the wee early hours my little bb embryo, all grown up, was in my arms. According to my notes, in a record breaking 1h 47m labour. I don’t know what time warp they operate in because it was 3 hours by my watch.

I am eternally grateful that she is here safe. The bleeding was likely the placenta beginning to separate and for a short while things became a little scary. But she is here. After almost 5 years, several operations, a bajillion tears, miscarriage, 4 cycles of IVF, and the other miserable cycles that were cancelled, my baby is finally home.

BB xx

49 thoughts on “bb

  1. Steph Mignon

    As I sit here in bed watching my 13 month old “baby” scrounge around my bedroom for more trouble at this early hour, I am filled with so much joy for you, for where you’ve been to get here, for where you are, and for where your are going, now a mommy! I know you will enjoy and savor every minute of this wild ride BB! Congrats on the birth of your long awaited baby girl! Sending you all so much love…

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thanks Steph! I hope you and your beautiful girl are doing well 🙂 I’ve loved every minute so far… It still feels like a crazy dream I’m going to wake up from!

      Reply
      1. Steph Mignon

        BB! What up girl!? It felt like that for a loooong time for me to until recently. When she started making verbal demands for me it got more real haha!

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        Aww bless her… she’s a proper little girl now! Nora has just found her voice and has worked out how to scream the house down so we are all a little bit tired this week 🙉

  2. keepgoing2015

    Such wonderful news! Congratulations! Wishing you heaps of happiness! xx

    PS I was actually thinking of you this morning because I randomly (and briefly) met Henry Cavill last night!

    Reply
  3. sally

    You have just made me weep. In the very best possible way. I’ve followed your blog throughout my two ivf treatments and my miscarriage and about to embark on my 3rd attempt you have just filled me with hope, joy, and an overwhelming sense of peace. Thank you for all your words, your humour, your honesty and now go enjoy that precious precious daughter of yours. You did her so so proud. Xxxx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh gosh I’m sorry I’ve been so slow replying to comments. I am so sorry to hear about your failed cycles and miscarriage. It’s the toughest thing I’ve ever been through and it’s awful when you don’t know when the nightmare will be over. It can feel never ending some times. I hope your third cycle is going well/went well. Let me know how you get on x

      Reply
  4. Nushi

    So good to hear from you and couldn’t be happier! Congratulations!! I often think about you and wonder what’s happening. Hope you and baby are well. Enjoy this new journey 🙂

    Reply
  5. myhopejar

    Yay! Congratulations!! So sorry you had to go through that scare but so happy your little one is finally here safe and sound!

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! It’s been a very fun (and slightly exhausting!) few weeks. I can’t believe it’s all real. I hope your little man is doing well x

      Reply
  6. hopefulandhungry

    Congratulations!! I’m so happy your sweet and long awaited daughter is here. Sorry you had such a scare but wonderful to hear she is here safe and healthy. Hope you are settling into the routine. Xoxoxo

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Thank you! Is like to say I’m settling into a routine but umm, it’s not quite happened yet 🙈 it’s been lots of fun though. She will be 7 weeks on Monday – time is whooshing by!

      Reply
  7. kiftsgate

    Definitely the best update post! so so happy for you and to read the happy ending to this blog! your little one is lucky to have a very cool and loving mum!! xx

    Reply
  8. EmilyMaine

    Awwwwew major goosebumps reading that. Sorry it had to be such a dramatic entrance by bb but thrilled she is here and safe. All my love and happy tears go to you. Hooe you are surviving the newborn phase ok xx

    Reply
  9. pregnant in my forties... hopefully!

    Been stalking your twitter account a bit so delighted to see this post. Just couldn’t be happier for you. So glad she is here and you have her safe, you so deserve it. Lots of love to you both xxxx

    ps oh hahahahahha the funniest thing… when I wrote ‘post’ my fingers automatically typed ‘poas…t’ Honestly some habits do die hard! xxx

    Reply
  10. Bob Dobb

    Well big congrats, BB! Gives hope to all of us still on that long, infertility road. You’re going to be a fine Mummy. X

    Reply
  11. Kitten

    Congratulations! I totally missed your twitter update, not sure how that happened. I’m so glad she’s in your arms. Take care!

    Reply
  12. bebeparler

    Welcome to Motherhood BB! So glad I checked in to see your post. Best one yet 😉 Followed your blog through my own miserable journey so absolutely thrilled for you. Xx

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      It certainly is! I am good thanks 🙂 Nora is 11 weeks old now… I can hardly believe it! She’s growing and changing so fast. It seems very surreal still when I think what a state I was in a year ago! How are you doing? x

      Reply
      1. bebeparler

        That’s one of my fav names, Nora. Enjoy how tiny she is because she’ll be running around in between your legs tripping you up before you know it! Yes, it’s amazing the journey you’ve gone through to get this far. Life has taken a turn for the better. I’m knackered but loving motherhood. Thinking about no.2 now!?!

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Hey 🙂 I’m not blogging at all but I think I might set up a new one. I quite miss it and I really miss all the comments and chats. We are doing good. I can’t believe she is almost 12 weeks already?! Time is flying, it’s crazy. I still look at her and feel so lucky and happy. She’s a lot of fun and it’s so cute seeing her little personality emerge. How are you getting on? I’m so behind keeping up with blogs. I need to set aside some time to catch up properly! xx

      Reply
      1. journeyformybaby

        That’s great! I’m doing well. 🙂

        I would LOVE to follow along if you end up starting a new blog. I really enjoy your humor and writing style. It would be great to read about your life as a MUM now! How wonderful is that!?! So happy for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

