Back to the start

My blog is a deserted wasteland. The grass has dried. The air is thick with dust. People have littered the ground with empty crisp packets and used cans. Torn and faded pictures of Henry Cavill are scattered around. There is a run down shack that used to be a smart, tidy little place where I used to live with my friends Bottle of Gin and iPad. Now there is nothing. Well, almost nothing, because I am back to visit with a little tent and a fancy new macbook no less. I hope I can find some gin around here somewhere.

Having skipped out of my clinic doors 21 months ago, I believe I said “hopefully forever” (to the tune of Skinny Love making my ears bleed), I found myself back there last week. That 21 months went surprisingly quickly. Nothing much had changed. Same old downcast faces in the waiting room, eyes glued to the floor. Same old fake flowers. Same old (actually they are not old) receptionists full of happy beans, blowing me kisses and waving.  I handed over more money; they gave me some tablets. The Scientist by Coldplay was playing.

Things chez Betty are good. We have moved to a shiny new house. My little bb embryo can now run, shout, and as of last week I discovered can eat dead flies. I have been increasingly thinking about our miracle frosties and I feel that now is the right time to arrange a FET. I’m ready to draw a line under fertility treatments and move on. If it all goes to plan (haha) I should be able to have a transfer in mid-October. I have decided to pay for embryo glue this time since it’s something new my clinic are offering and I’m inclined to throw everything at this final cycle. Has anyone else used embryo glue? Any pearls of wisdom you can throw my way? I am half intending to have a scratch. I’ve been pregnant with scratches, pregnant without, as well as having BFNs with scratches. Hmm. I am also undecided about acupuncture. Hang on, that isn’t throwing everything at it is it? Oh god I don’t know. Can someone just tell me what to do?

In other news, I have just read that one of my all-time best fancies Joshua Jackson is back on the market. Yesssss!!!!

I hope you are all keeping well. Please fill me in.

BB xx

23 thoughts on “Back to the start

  1. hopefulandhungry

    So nice to hear from you and I’ve had my morning laught now too! πŸ™‚ Glad to hear that your little one is doing so well and exciting that you are thinking of adding another one to your family. We did a FET this past February and we were shocked that it worked the first time around this time, our baby boy is due Oct. 22nd. We did the same exact protocol as we had done with the twins. I didn’t do acupuncture. What exactly is “embryo glue”? I haven’t heard of it. I took a Valium before my transfer like last time and really took that day and the day after easy-which I know can be hard when you are chasing a toddler around. Keep us all posted! Glad to hear you are well!!! Xoxo

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Oh gosh! Wow, congratulations!! That is amazing news. I don’t know enough about embryo glue and I’m having quite a big wobble about it now! Need to talk to the embryologist before I decide properly. I’m back at the clinic next week so hopefully I’ll find out a bit more then. I’m super happy to hear your news though! Are you managing ok with the twins running about?! You must be getting a bit tired now! xx

      Reply
  2. positivepantsttc

    Wow! You’re very lucky you have a frostie hey! I don’t think I can ever go through it again. I’m looking forward to reading all your quirky observations and stuff. 😜 I have no advice, sorry, and I’ve never heard of embryo glue. Do you take your bubba to the clinic? Do you get death stares from the other women?

    Reply
  3. positivepantsttc

    Wow! You’re very lucky you have a frostie hey! I don’t think I can ever go through it again. I’m looking forward to reading all your quirky observations and stuff. 😜 I have no advice, sorry, and I’ve never heard of embryo glue. Do you take your bubba to the clinic? Do you get death stares from the other women?

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      I know, so lucky! I had 5 embryos (3blasts) that last cycle and only 4 early embryos from the previous 3 cycles combined… I still can’t really believe I’m starting a frozen cycle. Never ever thought that would be me! I’m enjoying your insta pics… Looks like you are well! I’m trying not to take her. I know for a fact I’ve given death stares myself!!! Hoping I can avoid it. She’s very friendly. She’d be running over to everybody blowing them kisses and sharing her toys. I’m not sure you’d want that if you were in the middle of a cycle?!

      Reply
      1. positivepantsttc

        I’ll bet your daughter is friendly and loves sharing her toys. How old is she now? I used to wonder why mums with kids were doing IVF. I didn’t think of Frosties at the time. Duh! What’s your Insta name?

      2. barrenbetty Post author

        She’s 15 months. It’s gone so quick! It’s my real account… I’ll have to send you a coded message so you know it’s me! Most of our families don’t know we had IVF so I probably shouldn’t post it online haha x

      3. positivepantsttc

        Ahaha yep send me a PM on insty. 😊 When Bella was born I did a FB announcement saying she was a miracle rainbow baby after 4 years of TTC, 1 miscarriage & 5 failed Ivf cycles so everyone knows now. Haha Also I was on the news last night for an IVF story. That’s cool you are being discreet though. Your secret is safe with me. 😜😊

    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Hello! Oh gosh I’ve just been catching up on your blog. You’ve been through a lot in my absence… I hope the up coming cycle goes well. I’ll be following and sending you lots of luck x

      Reply
  4. wheresourpup

    Yay, I check this site every few months hoping for an update, very excited your blogging again!
    Don’t know a huge amount about the glue, but I remember the embryologist telling me it hadn’t been proven that it helps. Also thinking about a FET before January (when annual storage fee due), my little girl turns one in a couple of weeks.
    Looking forward to hearing about your journey, have everything crossed for you?
    Did you ever start another blog in the end?

    Reply
    1. barrenbetty Post author

      Aww that’s really sweet πŸ™‚ I’ve missed blogging quite a bit! That’s really interesting about the glue, thank you. I’m definitely going to ask them for more information on it. They have a little trial they published online with some stats but it was only 70 cycles with/70 cycles without so not a massive bit of data really. It’ll be interesting to see what they say… embryo glue sounds totally mental! I didn’t start another blog no… decided my life was waaaay too boring!!

      Reply
  5. bebeparler

    Welcome back Not-so-barren-now Betty! Great to hear you’re going for FET. Embryo glue- haven’t a clue. Will let you know if I hear anything. Probably doing FET next year. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

